The long road home - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2019 to August 16, 2019

The long road home

There were no trains going north with space for bikes, or so I was told by the nice young lady at the ticket counter. Because August 15th is a holiday in France , the number of trains was limited anyway. So I took the option of getting at least part way home by getting a train to Montluçon, which meant a three hour layover in Limoges. The train to Limoges didn't leave until 12:30, so I whiled away the time in my hotel room working on this journal, and then in the gare reading a newspaper. Seating inside the station building is limited, so I ended up on the platform sheltering from the rain. Finally leaving, the train ride through the hills north of Brive was uneventful, and Limoges proved to be free of the rain that was falling in the Correze. I rode my bike around the city for a while, but on this holiday afternoon all the stores were closed, and I didn’t need to eat so I gave a pass to the restaurants. 

Limoges has a small medieval quarter. Lots of retaurants here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Getting on the train to Montluçon I noticed that I was not the only cyclist boarding. There was a couple from the Savoie who were also trying to get home. They would be taking trains onward from Montluçon via Lyon on their journey, but like me needed to stay overnight waiting for the next train. The ride was long, but uneventful. Most of the passengers got off at Gueret, and those that’s stayed on went all the way. The small towns we passed through are becoming depopulated, and even though there is train service, the usage is slight. In Montluçon I checked into the same hotel I had stayed at in June, and after changing and cleaning up I set out looking for supper.

The ducal flag flies over the chateau in Montluçon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Supper in Montlucon turned out to be a simple affaira: tomatoes with mozzarella, grilled andouillette and peach tart for dessert. 

I woke very early in the morning, and so without rushing I got to the railway station by eight. A train was leaving for Bourges at 8:21, and so I got a through ticket for Dijon and got on. From Bourges there was a connection to Nevers leaving in ten minutes of my arrival, and despite it being quite full, I managed to squeeze my bike on and rode the one stop to that city holding the bike up to prevent it from blocking the aisle or falling over. In Nevers, I had a little over an hour to wait for a Dijon bound train and I used the time to get a sandwich to take on the trip. And then the train left and before I had planned it I was in Dijon. The ride home took all of forty minutes and I arrived at my front door at 2:30 in the afternoon.

Today's ride: 26 km (16 miles)
Total: 1,008 km (626 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Gregory GarceauKeith,

I thoroughly enjoyed riding and eating along with you on this bike tour. Thank you.

By the way, for some reason I haven't been getting e-mail notifications of your most recent responses to my messages. I was afraid maybe I was a little too sarcastic or something--especially when I compared one of your meals to my Taco Tuesday. Luckily I noticed the brand new "# of comments feature" on the Cycleblaze journals. That feature must have just shown up in the last couple of days. So I clicked on it for the first time ever and saw that you had, in fact, written back.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi Greg,
Well I’m glad you liked it.
I have been getting email notifications right along, but I use safari as my browser on my iPad. Maybe there is a difference between platforms? Anyway, that’s beyond my competence as I leave the IT stuff to the real nerds.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauHi there Keith. I haven't seen or heard much from you anywhere lately. I hope all is well health-wise, Corona Virus-wise, and with your eyes.
-Your MN pal, Greg
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Keith KleinTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg,
Thanks for the kind thoughts. All is well here, or as well as can be expected. We are just emerging from quarantine but it will be a while yet before anything resembling “normal” returns. We can ride our bikes, but only solo rides, no groups. Touring is out, though, as there will be no travelling more than 100 km from home, and the trains are only for people with authorization for work purposes. Masks are required in public places and stores. At the local home supply store yesterday I got my cart and my hands disinfected entering and leaving.
By and large this country has been very disciplined during the confinement. No protests, at least in public, and much support for the national health were the most striking difference that I saw between here and the USA. Fortunately France does not seem to be contaminated by conspiracy theorists or science deniers. We await a vaccine, but will probably stay mostly at home until it’s arrival.
Hope you and yours are safe and staying healthy.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rich FrasierAnother great journal. Again sent me scurrying to Google maps to figure out where in the heck you were riding! Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinTo Rich FrasierHi Rich,
I’m glad you liked my journals. As we immergé from confinement I’m hoping to get back to riding. Unfortunately my doctor visits have become more frequent, so for the time being I’ll be staying close to home. Maybe by fall.......
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauHi Keith. I haven't heard from you, nor have I seen any new tours in Bourgandonian (sic) wine country in a while. I know there have been some health problems, so I just wanted to check in.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Keith KleinTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg,
Yep, health problems. My cancer came back, and therapy has been taking up a lot of my time. I am optimistic about the outcome, but it is wearying none-the-less. Surgery last week, probably for the last time.
Safe travels,
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinGlad to hear you're optimistic. I am too, then, and I hope for the best. Good luck.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago