Escape from the ward - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2019

Escape from the ward

The public garden in Bourges is well worth a visit.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don’t know how many times Ive been in Tours, but that’s where I am. I’m here mostly because its the farthest away from Gevrey that I can get in one day. When I started these tours in my adopted country, I first went to places near enough to where I live that I could go there and back in one day by bike. That stretched to two days, then three, then I began to take the train to a start pont and train back. Eventually these concentric journeys reached the limits of what I could reach in a single day, and now I know that I will have to take at least two days to reach new territory. So here I am, between trains, waiting’s for the real tour to start. I am in a nice hotel, while I wait, so there is that. The journey here was relatively uneventful, an easy ride into Dijon to catch the train to Nevers, change for Bourges, change again for Tours. I had a two hour layover in Bourges, so I now know that one lap of the center is approximately 4 kilometers. The train from Bourges to Tours was packed with cyclists, but in typical SNCF fashion, there were more bicycles than places, so we were stacked up in the baggage spaces. Something is afoot in the SNCF about bicycles. I know this because a young man with a badge was asking all the cyclists if they would use a trucking service to transport their cycles if such was available. I answered NON! of course. Who would entrust their expensive ride to a service that may or may not arrive on time, and would surely be slower than the train? The couple seated opposite me were of the same opinion, but I fear for the future of travelling with a bike on the SNCF. The railway clearly doesn’t want then hassle of dealing with cyclists.

The thought of losing the train service being too hard to contemplate, I consoled myself with a good supper of fois gras, seared tuna steak with blackened sesame seeds and purée of squash, and a baba rum for desert, accompanied by a half bottle of the local wine.

Today's ride: 21 km (13 miles)
Total: 21 km (13 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesGlad you're out and about and have not been too baked.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi Kathleen,
It’s a LOT cooler in Brittany than elsewhere. I emerged from the a.c. just a couple of times during the heat wave. Now we need rain at home.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauAHA! So you've been holding out on me. I read your original "What to do between doctors visits," but I didn't know there was a Part 2 until this morning. I guess that's because you were doing it at the same time as I was selfishly concentrating on my own tour.

Now I get the chance to critique "Part 2" a few chapters at a time. I did sneak a look ahead at a couple of pages and saw some amazing food, so I can't wait to read the rest.

I don't know enough about the truck transport they were offering for bikes, but I might not have been so dismissive of the idea--assuming the truck follows the train fairly closely. If, on the other hand, the truck goes to a terminal, and then they transfer the bikes to another terminal and then to another terminal, and your bike shows up three days later, well, that just would not do.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago