Holland Lake to Seely Lake - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2023

Holland Lake to Seely Lake

Heart 3 Comment 0

July 5- Holland Lake to Seely Lake- 34 miles 3900 Feet

Henry was riding a rigid older Diamondback.
Heart 5 Comment 0

We left Holland Lake at the crack of dawn*, a little before 8. There was a ton of elevation, and I climbed well until noon or so,then hit a wall. I rested and walked the bike a little bit, but was able to ride most of it. I think today's 3900 feet was the biggest on the route so far.  I finally topped out with awesome views of the valley ahead towards Seely. Then miles of exposed, flowy, rugged singletrack followed. The Kiwis flew down pretty fast, and I was a little slower on my rigid LHT, taking care not to rattle any teeth loose. It was the longest and hardest singletrack I've done, not that I have done a lot of it. But it was fun.

*The crack of dawn up here in summer is about 5am.

Yuge climbing day
Heart 2 Comment 0

 As we approached Seely Lake, Cain (from the campground)  appeared out of nowhere and rode into town with us. The Kiwis and I ate at the Chicken Coop, and it was mediocre. 

Cain arranged for all of us to camp behind the ice cream stand in town for free, so we did that. I did laundry and showered across the street, lost a sock (first thing I've lost on the journey) and talked to Jen. She and our friend Lisa have been in Colorado visiting Jen's mom for a few days, and  are leaving for Oregon tomorrow. It's likely to be Jen's last visit with her mom, so things are getting sad and real. 

The camping was was a little loud and chaotic, and one meathead parked his running F150 diesel 5 feet outside my tent and left it running while he went and stood in the long ice cream line. I got of my tent to tell him to move but was already in front and I didn't know which meathead owned the truck. What's with the idling trucks? 

August (who is a bike mechanic) and Cain discussing the ramifications of various crank lengths related to watts and cog tooth counts.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanLooks like a very serious spontaneous crank-length discussion just the sort of thing I always long to do on the trail in the middle of pristine wilderness. But I am never with someone with that kind of crank knowledge. (Actually, I know nothing about bikes.)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanMe too. I know enough to be dangerous. I know so little that whatever they were talking a out was over my head, so I made the crank length stuff up.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
At the top
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Mastodon
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanThe scale is so deceiving. Those grasses are actually twenty feet tall.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanIt's hard to see the scale in a photo, as you know.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Delicious milkshake
Heart 6 Comment 0
Don't eat here
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanIf you don't recommend it, it must be really bad.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanHahahah!!!!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Tomorrow is Ovando!

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 459 miles (739 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 0