Epilogue- Statistics, Insights and Drivel - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

Epilogue- Statistics, Insights and Drivel

It's been a little over 5 months since I finished my ride. Jen's mom, Judy, or Juju as she was known, passed away about a week after I got home. The loss is very sad, and we're relieved that she's no longer in pain.

Jen and Judy a few years ago
Heart 5 Comment 0

Here are some statistics. Unless otherwise noted, they represent the time I started the ride until I finished in Helena.

Total miles ridden - 604
Average per riding day - 34
High mileage day - 51
Hike a bike- 238,900 miles
Days on the trail - 21
Rest Days - 4 (Eureka, Whitefish, Lincoln, Llama Ranch)
Riding days - 18
Ascent - 35,000 feet
Bears - 4
Moose - 1
Elk - dozens
Flat tires - 0
Mechanicals - 0
Toddlers calling me numb nuts - 1 (see video episode 1)
Sightings of Swanson's Thrush, nature's finest bird -One million
Camping nights - 19
Rain - 15 minutes while riding, a few hours during 2 or 3 nights

Food:
Instant potatoes
Delicious canned chicken
Tuna
Ramen
Jerky
Oatmeal
Protein bars
Cookies
Pringles
Nuts
Restaurants

My plan is to return to the GDMBR in 2024 and go as far as I can or want to. I haven't decided whether to start in Banff again or somewhere in Montana. That Canadian section is really stunning, so we'll see what I decide. 

My beloved LHT is an amazing bike and, as always, performed without any issues. And its limitations were exposed on this route, as were mine. After a week or so on the trail I realized that a more purpose-built bike with larger rims and fatter tire capacity would be a better choice on this and similar routes (hello, Western Wildlands Route!)  So I found an almost-new Surly Ogre with this type of riding in mind. 

The Long Haul Trucker somewhere in Montana
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Ogre in Central Oregon
Heart 4 Comment 0

I've taken the Ogre on a couple of short routes in Central Oregon, and I like it a lot. Can't wait to test it some more.  I might even do something crazy, like train harder. We'll see what happens. 

I have been editing the GoPro footage from the ride and episodes 1-3 are out. It's been fun watching the footage, and I'm pleasantly surprised at the response so far.  The next post will have links to those YouTube videos. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bob DistelbergI think the Ogre is a great choice. A couple years ago I was looking for a new 'do anything' bike and I was going back and forth between the Surly Ogre and a Salsa Fargo. I ultimately went with the Fargo because I actually found one available (this was during the Covid bike shortage), but really liked the looks of the Ogre.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bob DistelbergEven this past summer it was hard to find a decent used Ogre, and there were none available new.
I'm happy with it so far. There were quite a few Fargos on the route with happy owners.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanGreat statistics, thank you.

I'm very impressed that you averaged 34 miles per day. No way could I do that. I guess with calves the size of yours you can do such things.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanThanks Bruce. There were days where I thought going 10 miles would kill me. I could feel the mileage creeping up after a week or so, even though the section of Montana I rode was as rough as Canada.

As my grandfather once told me, take care of your calves, and they'll take care of you. Wait, was that it?
Well, whatever he told me, it was something.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago