06/28/23 Longmont to Poudre Canyon - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

06/28/23 Longmont to Poudre Canyon

Heart 0 Comment 0

The route from Longmont to Loveland to Ft. Collins was country roads and cycle paths the entire way.  I had decided to go west to Walden and turn north to Wyoming rather than going straight to Laramie. The ride to Laramie didn’t look very interesting, it’s hot down in the foothills and all routes out of Laramie end up merging with the one I’d be on if I’d taken the scenic route. So an easy choice. I was aiming for the KOA north of Ft. Collins even though their website said it was full, figuring they’d let me throw my tent down somewhere. I’d have liked a motel, but the prices were insane.  Ft. Collins was nice, a lively college town.  I did shopping for the next few days and then followed my phone to the KOA. My plan failed, and the very polite lady said I could have a shower but couldn’t stay. I declined the shower and headed up Pouder Canyon, knowing that there was a campground 17 miles away but hoping to find a suitable spot well before that. I didn’t, and got to the campground after 8, but with enough light to set up my tent and eat some dinner before going to bed. 

Nick approached me at a gas station where I was getting water, very interested in my trip. He posted a video to Facebook where we hope for hits and profit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Horse workout
Heart 0 Comment 0
Houses encroaching on crops. It’s happening a lot out here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Loveland, Colorado
Heart 1 Comment 0
I visited the Benson Sculpture Garden while passing through Loveland. It deserves a longer look
Heart 0 Comment 0
Benson Sculpture Garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Benson Sculpture Garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Benson Sculpture Garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking the scenic route over the mountains
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Poudre Canyon
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were several scofflaws on this road. One bus in particular remains vivid in my memory
Heart 1 Comment 0
Following the Poudre River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My plan B of camping by the road is not allowed, not that I saw any decent (flat) spots anyway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was the inflatable greenhouses that caught my eye
Heart 1 Comment 0
The rocks scream out to me in a language I once understood
Heart 0 Comment 2
George HallAre you a Geologist?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
David ChavezI was educated as a geologist but never became one. Computers happened
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
New hat
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,516 miles (2,440 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0