06/27/33 Denver to Longmont - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

06/27/33 Denver to Longmont

Bikeways almost the entire way
Heart 0 Comment 0

I waited for the post office to open before starting north out of town. I was mailing back my stove plus assorted bits which I’ve not used at all and am tired of carrying about. Ditching my stove means I don’t have to carry water for cooking and cleaning, fuel, condiments, windscreen and the like, freeing up even more space to allow for easy access rebalancing while making it all lighter. I’ll need to be more careful about my grazing habits now that I lack the ability to whip up a filling meal at any time, but I expect to figure that out. 

It was another day of cycle paths getting out of the Denver metropolitan area, easily navigated. Denver strikes me as an immensely livable place, though a bit too big for me. There is just so much of it! It was well into the afternoon before I cleared the city but it wasn’t until I left the Route 36 bikeway that the number of adjacent cars dropped to where I could hear my thoughts again. 

It was hot today, in the 90’s. I drank over 4 liters of (ice cold!) water and by Longmont I’d decided I was finished. I found a motel,  went to a grocery and bought a bunch of salad stuff which I fixed up and ate in my room. I’ve been craving salads lately and it was nice to indulge. 

A scenic view stop outside of Boulder had all sorts of visitor info, including a nice paper map. I’m using it to decide my exit from the state. There’s a scenic route back over the mountains to Walden, a few steep sections but generally not difficult which I like, but the route north from there would be a repeat of an earlier trip. Staying on the prairie and aiming towards Laramie is another option. I need a nice paper map of Wyoming to stare at. 

Rode through interesting residential neighborhoods on my way to the US 36 bikeway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Easy exit from the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
Noisy exit from the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These critters are everywhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Unvandalised public bike repair stand, rarely seen in the wild
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Boulder. I turned north shortly after this picture and only grazed the eastern edge of the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
The path was idyllic at times
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old school
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,452 miles (2,337 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0