06/26/23 Denver - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2023

06/26/23 Denver

A day on bike trails
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gage is a true craftsman, a pleasure to watch work. I showed up at the Gates facility in the morning and he brought me to the bike shop, full of all sorts of belted bikes of different configurations, tools and machinery.  My replacement gearbox was waiting on the bench and Gage set about doing the swap. But not simply a swap. When all was said and done I had a new gearbox, new shifter, belt tensioned, new cables, brakes tightened, hubs repacked and given spare cables and a spare belt.   Very MLK, and I could not be more pleased.

It was an easy 30 mile ride on pretty bike lanes following the local drainage system, made all the more pleasant by my smooth shifting, silent rolling machine.   I spent the evening with my friend Nick, an immigration and asylum attorney I HAD met pre-pandemic when we were both volunteering in Tijuana with a migrant advocacy NGO and general all around good human. We spent a long evening catching up with all that has transpired and fretted about what is likely to come.

Where I spent the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gage, bicycle master
Heart 1 Comment 0
Out with the old
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goodbye
Heart 0 Comment 0
As close as I rode to downtown Denver
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding through the Denver suburbs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calm in the middle of rush hour
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 1,401 miles (2,255 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0