Day 2: Clare to Mt Bryan East Hut - The Welshman and the Mawson - CycleBlaze

December 8, 2021

Day 2: Clare to Mt Bryan East Hut

Crosswinds - My Bike Does Not Sail

Wow. What a day. I am going to keep it short because, quite frankly I am pooped and doing this on the moby just cannot do the day I have had justice. 

Yes, it has been a hard 100k and I didn't quite make it to Hallet, but I think my plan B will work out just as well, if not better. 

Stunning scenery. Big vistas. Some big climbs. Some awesome descents 😂 Some hairy moments...and zero people. Not a soul. Except for some farm grain lorry that passed me by. 

I can smell the Flinders. Or rather there is a plant that grows up by Moonarie, a place I climb at when I can, and it has a distinctive and pungent ganja aroma when you brush past it or when it is hot. Today it was wafting, unless there was something else going on 😂

There was a moment when I almost took a shortcut due to a looming knee issue. I didn't...and I am so glad. I would have missed some stunning scenery and riding. 

My knee is giving me some grief. I hope I can just cycle through it...as you sometimes can with these things. Anyway, I waffled around in Burra, took a tablet, had a coffee and cake and set off...and seemed fine. So when it came to decision time I just decided to go for it. I'll see if it comes back to bite me tomorrow.

God I want some chocolate! Wow...I have managed to waffle on! Just a pic and then I am done. I will add some more later 🙏

Sunset from Mt Bryan Schoolhouse
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 225 km (140 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0