Day1: Tanunda to Clare - The Welshman and the Mawson - CycleBlaze

December 7, 2021

Day1: Tanunda to Clare

Had a bit of a late start what with my Beautiful needing a token gesture of a sleep in after pulling some early shifts in work. So I treated myself to a hearty breakfast...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I loaded the steed...

Heart 1 Comment 0

And took a nice pleasant drive to just outside of Tanunda...posed for a photo...and then said our goodbyes. Always a difficult thing to do, aye.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Getting out of Tanunda was rough...bit of a dumping ground for rubbish on some spots...and some of the yrack looked like a 4wd playground. But it wasn't long before I was treated to some fab vistas. Always hard to capture. And always hard to stop...take rhe phone out...take a pic...get going again. You know :-)

Heart 4 Comment 0

Eventually I got to Riverton and a welcome coffee and a sausage roll. The section out of Kapunda was hard. One spot in particular that had boulders blocking entry that was rutted, but hard to see through the head high grass. No sssnakey friends yet though!

Somewhere between Kapunda and Riverton
Heart 6 Comment 0
Another somewhere between Kapunda and Riverton
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice road to ride
Heart 5 Comment 0

From Riverton I pegged it through Auburn and in to Clare on the rail trail. Set up my home at the caravan park and ducked in to the Caltex servo up the road for a big curry. We discovered this gem several years back...cheap!

Heart 4 Comment 0

Here is what I rode. Some funkyness with my Garmin. And at one stage I panicked as I thought I had did a big circle and was heading back to Kapunda...but all good.

Today was all about setting little goals. Something I like to tell my kids when on camp. 

Highlights...whispering fields of wheat...all the birds of prey...all the ravens...seeing a new born lamp suckling and the look on mom's face...probably more to say, but it gets pretty hard writing this on the moby!

Downsides...knee twinging when I was rolling in to Clare. And the thought of doing it all again tomorrow...and likely harder...yikes!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 125 km (78 miles)
Total: 125 km (78 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0