Day 4: Riding Solo - Cycling Siblings: Touring Kentucky - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2021

Day 4: Riding Solo

Rough River Dam to Sonora

I left Rough River Dam this morning at 7:00 and Morri was waiting on her ride to Aberdeen.  Thank you, thank you Joe Heller for picking up Morri.  As I was packing to leave I wolfed down half a Subway sandwich left over from last night; I wanted to get on the road to beat the rain.  Ten miles out,  I stopped at a gas station and got a bacon and egg biscuit-got to keep that calorie intake going. 

What a great day for a ride with heavy cloud cover that always looked like it was going to rain. I was on the ridge top with only two big climbs that were not bad at all. There would have been a long steep climb if I had been going the other way. The first 12 miles was in very busy with traffic (Hwy 79 and 259), but once I got on Hwy 401 and 84, it was a dream ride.  Today’s ride was 15 pounds lighter which made the Kentucky Rollers a lot easier. 

As most of you know  I’ll stop and talk to anyone, so I met and talked to the Quick Mart attendannts, people standing in line, a nice Amish family (who gave me permission to take photos), and every cyclist on the road. There was a group of 7 going East-to-West, I talked to 3 of them, then three miles later talked to the other 4. There were a couple of other single riders that I also met. I happened upon a young couple walking down the road and ask how they were doing, “not very well”, they had run out of gas. Well, I flagged a car down and ask if they would take this couple to get gas,  they agreed and away they went. I’m sure the last thing they thought was that a cyclist would be able to help them in an out-of-gas situation. 

Stopped at a gas station/food mart and snacked on a bag of the best battered mushrooms when I was about 9 miles from my destination.  Arrived in Sonora at the Thurman-Phillips Guest House after 5 hours on the road, and what a place.  Charlie Thurman fed me, washed my clothes, and showed me around while giving me the history of the place. If you’re ever in Sonora, this is the place to stay. 

The only thing missing is Morri, I missed having her on today’s ride. She will drive to Cave City and meet me for the rest of the trip and do short rides each day, per doctors orders. 

Morri usually does the journaling so this is my first crack at it, and for those who know me, know this is a lot of writing. I’m sure Morri will check my spelling, punctuation and sentence structure. She will also add her story. 

My story…

I actually got some sleep last night and woke up feeling much better this morning, anything would be an improvement over yesterday.  Peter was packed and ready to go early, hoping to beat the rain that was predicted, so I walked up to the lobby to see him off.  I was sad not to be riding with him but I was happy for him to continue without me.  I had a few hours before Joe would arrive to pick me up so I went back to the room, packed up my things and went back to bed.  Joe arrived around 10:30, we loaded the bike and my stuff and we headed back to Aberdeen.

The 3.5 hour car ride when by surprisingly fast, Joe and I  talked pretty much the whole trip.  I don’t know many people that would drop everything to spend 7+ hours in a car to pick up his neighbor’s sister and bring her home but I’m eternally grateful to Joe, who is one of those kind of people.

I got home (to Peter & Cay’s house) around 3:00, got unpacked and started some laundry.  I needed to get myself ready for the return trip tomorrow to meet back up with Peter.  I flew from California to Kentucky to spend time with my brother and I’m not going to let a little dehydration keep me from hanging out with him.  We made plans for how I can join him for the final portion of his daily rides and I think I’ll be okay.  I’m going to force myself to take it easy, which can be difficult for me, but I don’t ever want to feel as bad as I did Tuesday morning so I think I’ll be good.

Cay got home from work around 5:00 and we FaceTimed with Peter.  He couldn’t wait to give us a guided tour of the B&B where was staying for the night.  I was sorry to have missed this destination but at least I won’t miss tomorrow night where we will staying at the Wigwam Village No. 2.  Then Peter started talking about the amazing ride he had today…he was literally killing me.  At least my dinner was better than his dinner…Cay brought home a rotisserie chicken and made baked potatoes and roasted broccoli. For the last 2 days I’ve had to force myself to eat but not tonight, I enjoyed every bite…thanks Cay, you always spoil me when I come to visit.

Cay and I walked out to the back patio to see the sunset and saw Joe, his wife Sherry and their back door neighbors, all sitting on their deck and since I forgot to get a picture of Joe and me earlier, Cay and I walked over to get a picture.  Of course we stayed and visited for a while. 

All in all it was a good day and I’m looking forward to what tomorrow will bring.



A day without my sister.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And off I go.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey guys, would you watch my stuff for a minute?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three of the group of 7 heading to Oregon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s where I’d put my peanut butter. She said that she had a can of spinach on the other side, but it popped out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The other 4 of the group of seven.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My favorite Kind of road, no center line, curves, no traffic, and some hills for good measure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I also like fresh paved with no traffic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t think they want you to come visit on the porch.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today must be trash day, this things were all over the place.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gummy Sushi. I’ll try a lot of stuff, I’m just not sure about this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Breaded mushrooms and a coke. Nice little pick-me-up snack.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMusk thistles
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carduus_nutans
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Need a ride, call PCham, I’ll flag someone down.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ahhhhh……
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My delicious dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
“Saint” Joe and me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hangin’ with the neighbors
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 174 miles (280 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Dori MackThat must have been hard to say goodbye to Peter as he rode away. I’m glad you’re still able to work out spending some rides together. Great post, both of you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago