Jan 14th - Pak Khat to Bueng Kan - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 14, 2024

Jan 14th - Pak Khat to Bueng Kan

The One Hotel

Good 7:30am morning from the Mekong River. Yep, off to an early start today. I'm taking the longer scenic route along the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Google maps showed the road ended and I should have turned, but this is too good to pass up
Heart 1 Comment 0
And I'm passing by rubber trees
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a great start to my day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just kidding. The scenic route has come to an abrupt end. And back I go....
Heart 0 Comment 0

I really enjoyed my morning ride.  I made some notes too.  Not many, but it's the things that make the ride enjoyable and are easy to overlook.  Things like listening to a variety of chirping birds and some flying right in front of me.  At one point the air was permeated with a pleasant smell.  I was guessing eucalyptus trees, but I wasn't positive.  

I was a bit amused by the ramshackleness (is that a word) of this house but note the satellite dish. Priorities
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is great too. A nice, paved road and scenic trees
Heart 1 Comment 0
With flowers
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like her style!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Random boulders up in the rubber tree stands
Heart 1 Comment 0
The word of the day. Dogs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I turned off the main road again because it looked like there was a path right along the river...with more dogs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Zoom in on this. I thought the swooping birds in this section were going to take me out!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A better photo of the recycled tires/garbage cans. They have been everywhere the last couple of days.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Did I mention the dogs everywhere too?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hello Laos across the river. At one point, I actually heard music coming across the river!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Road maintenance anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
But I'll take those bright flowers along the road any day!
Heart 1 Comment 0
So close to the banana trees that are getting overtaken by the vines.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Zoomed in of the scene up ahead. My route turned off and I didn't bother trying to get back down to the river after that.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Before I took the scenic road I made sure there was a way back to the main road. It said to turn here. See these gates, ya, I passed through someone's yard. Don't worry, after I opened the first gate, I made sure not dogs were coming to defend the home before proceeding! Damn you Google maps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was taking a photo of this cow's floppy ears, but apparently, he was saying something to me too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sugar cane?
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was a dog gauntlet today! I don't think I've every continually passed by so many
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not to be outdone by the dogs, here are some chickens crossing the road 😉 Just kidding, they were pecking at some disgusting what appeared to be entrails 🤮
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back on this beautiful tree
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was sunny when I started out, then I hit a patch of fog and it cooled down again, before the sun returned. Here's a view of the mountains of Laos shrouded in clouds/mist
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw some benches and an area to take a break. The sheltered part next to me was full of people. Eventually I gathered, it was "document kids' height and weight day"
Heart 1 Comment 0
See all those cans? What the heck? Are they trying to grow them? 🤔
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cute!! When I was getting ready to leave, I motioned to the lady that the scale was bad 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not a great picture, but I like these hats. I sometimes see people wearing them in the fields.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This place was advertised on Google maps as "The northernmost viewpoint in the northeastern region." Hmm, not quite what I had in mind for a rest break
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rest break at a shelter. Nothing better to do than to take a picture of my bike
Heart 1 Comment 0
Well, hello there rather large water buffalo!
Heart 1 Comment 0
A few miles before town, my eye caught sight of a sign indicating a bike path. Nice to get a bit off the highway for a few miles, plus there was a bit of shade
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is great!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made my way to The One hotel, which was a nice modern business/wedding venue type hotel.  I especially liked the pool.  Is anyone surprised?  It's next to a Lotus grocery store/mall which I really appreciated.  I'll spend a rest day here because I can, because my legs are a little tired, and because I need to do some more route research!

Great way to cool down!
Heart 1 Comment 0
People. Christmas is over. Send Rudolph home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ahhhhhhh, coca cola light, how I have missed you. None of this second class citizen Coke Zero crap today!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 592 miles (953 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0