Jan. 11th - Nong Khai - rest day - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2024

Jan. 11th - Nong Khai - rest day

My digestive track was not the happiest last night and I ended up calling it an afternoon/evening pretty early.  Slept solid for once.  I had read in another journal about a beautiful place to see water lilies.  I found it on google maps, but then the recent reviews showed that they are doing construction and the ones you can see are very far away.  Bummer.

I still decided I should go for a short ride though.  (Technically, that negates this as a rest day 😂) I'm on a quiet side street and I was enjoying the scenery and did not see the snake by my bike until it would have been too late....lucky for me, it was already dead.  A very green snake.    I headed down to the actual city and made my way to the river where multiple blogs mention there is a bike path.  Rode it for about 4 miles before coming back.

Spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out at the, you guessed it, the pool! 😃  I seriously thought about hanging out another day, but I know there will be more beautiful spots to come and I am anxious to hit the road.

There were all these fish sculptures with the fish names along the waterfront
Heart 1 Comment 0
A cow and a zebra too
Heart 0 Comment 0
These decorated the fence. Kind of cool looking
Heart 2 Comment 0
They changed colors a bit
Heart 0 Comment 0
More fish
Heart 1 Comment 0
dragons
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice posts
Heart 1 Comment 0
Literally, a pack of dogs with one of them up to some funny business. Timing is everything.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Phra That Klang Nam off the bank of the river in 1847. The stupa has been submerged for years. It is said to enshrine nine foot-bone relics of the Buddha. Now people take boats out to pay their respects.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Practicing with my tripod/self timer. Not too bad.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownWhat an adorable naga. This area is really hopping in the evenings. I love Nong Khai.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 490 miles (789 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0