Feb. 20th - Rest day in Nuwara Eliya - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2024

Feb. 20th - Rest day in Nuwara Eliya

Although I've done a bunch of ridiculously low mile days, yesterday was the first full day off my bike since I landed in Sri Lanka.  Shocking, I know.  I'm taking a day off my bike today too.

Good morning!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is different
Heart 0 Comment 0

I hiked the rest of my way up my road (more like a narrow lane) up to the temple.  It's called Single Hill Tree road and is a popular hike.  From there, I continued up with my sights set on the top where there used to be a single tree (hence the name) but now there are just communication towers.  The towers looked closer than they were!

Lake Gregory in the distance
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like a shortcut
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was my "trail." A bit rugged of a road, but super peaceful
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey Glory!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
See that tall building (bottomish left) with the sheet metal roof? That's my accommodation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had read reviews so knew to take a little path between two fences to be able to see the view. A couple of Russians were there and had no clue to maybe turn their music off so I moved and found a nice little place in shade
Heart 0 Comment 0
My hair "highlights" were not suppose to turn my hair totally blond!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Now I found a "shortcut" for real that I took down some steep, irregular steps/trail. I needed extra adventure!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Panoramic shot. It's so gorgeous in this area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tuk tuks can take you as far as this temple then the road gets too rugged so you have to walk. Bring water.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's okay to slow down and relax and take in the beauty of simple things
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I returned from my hike, I just enjoyed the rest of the afternoon hanging out in the living room area of the hotel.  I wanted to see the colonial part of the town, but I never did.  I had dinner plans for tonight and that was more important.  I have to remind myself sometimes that I don't have to see everything and sometimes relaxing is just what the dr. ordered.

Claire (the other cyclist I met last week) cycled up all the brutal hills and we are finally in the same town.  We met for dinner and I actually ventured outside of my comfort zone food wise. We went to "Indian Summer" restaurant which serves more authentic food.  It wasn't bad, but I can't say I'm jumping for joy to try it again.  I had so much fun exchanging stories with Claire.  She's been cycling around the world solo for a couple of years now and is such a lovely lady.  It was so great to compare notes about the challenges of being solo and sometimes feeling "burnt out."  We also had a good laugh over my ill-fated biking partner from my Africa trip.  We will cross paths again in a few days.

Claire and I --- Claire's Instagram: @exploringbybicycle
Heart 1 Comment 0

If I didn't mention it already, this town is my favorite in all of Sri Lanka at this point.  Unfortunately, no time to spend more time here.  Onwards.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great hike!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago