Feb. 19th - Nawalapitiya to Nawara Eliya (via tuk tuk) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2024

Feb. 19th - Nawalapitiya to Nawara Eliya (via tuk tuk)

My driver picked me up at 9:00am sharp and proceeded to load my bike in the seating area of my feet meaning I'd have little leg room.  Oh hell no!  You have a bigger tuk tuk that opens in the back.  I proceeded to indicated we should put my bike in horizontal across the seat.  Much better, but if we get in an accident, my chain ring is going to stab me!

We head out and he goes a completely different way than I would have ridden so I can't even see if I would have survived the hills.  What I can tell you is that based on the way he went, I definitely wouldn't have survived on the direct route to Nuwara Eliya.

The views were beautiful, but our tuk-tuk didn't seem to have a lot of power on the climbs and there was some suspicious rattling noise.  I was a bit nervous for a while, but eventually settled in and enjoyed the ride.  We stopped at one viewpoint when he saw me leaning to see the view.  I took the opportunity to indicated we should rearrange the bike so both of us would have more space.  We had a much better arrangement for the rest of the trip.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rearranging my bike. Much better!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once we got to the main highway, I couldn't believe the climbs.  Miles of climbing with switchbacks even.  Yep, beyond my capabilities (or desires) at this point.

I had picked out a new hostel/hotel up in the tea plantations.  I knew since it was new, there might not be many other guests in the hostel.  I was right!  I had the room to myself for the first night.  The second night it filled up with all women and it was fun chatting and giving each other tips.

My place has amazing views and I am so happy I picked it.  He showed me the hotel rooms as well, and they were beautiful.  Okay, I may have also picked it because down the road is a Pizza Hut and a big grocery store.  Details.  I walked down for lunch and then headed over to Gregory Lake.  I didn't feel like paying to walk inside so I just wandered up a side road a bit.  Anyways, nice walk, nice day, I love it here.  This is now my favorite place in Sri Lanka that I have visited.  Oh, and in case you were wondering, it's also the highest town in all of Sri Lanka.  That meant no a/c needed and it was actually cold today!  Yep, I actually wore my jacket a bit.  I really enjoyed the crisp mountain air.

moving shot
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bye tuk-tuk guy. Thanks for the lift!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Okay. I love it! The view from my homestay
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found a bunch of birds on my walk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking back home
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Close up. Tea, tea, everywhere
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have the whole dorm room to myself tonight. Fine by me!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Mount View Single Tree (not to be confused with a hotel with a very similar name).  6 Dorm beds and a number of really nice hotel rooms.

I'm in hill country. I'm surrounded by tea plantations. It's cold. Seems fitting I should have my first cup of tea. Cheers!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0