Feb. 17th - Kandy to just outside of Kandy - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 17, 2024

Feb. 17th - Kandy to just outside of Kandy

I had thought I would likely stay a second day at the homestay, but only booked one night as paying direct is a little cheaper.  Well, it's Saturday night in Kandy and they were sold out.  It was fine though, because I wanted to visit the Royal Botanic Gardens so I grabbed a hotel in that area and it was great!  I rode all of 6 miles today.  Still no official rest day for me.

But first, more leisure cycling on the windy river road with a view now and then.  I had noticed in the last day or so that when using the lowest gear on my back sprocket, there was a little bit of noise like it wanted to jump or the chain was rubbing.  Well, lucky me happened to cycle by a bike shop along that river road that had fancy bikes so I knew they could probably adjust it.  And they did, on the spot and wouldn't take any money for it.  Such a friendly bunch.

The whole gang from the shop
Heart 1 Comment 0
As I was getting ready to leave (and after the photo shoot) she tells me to wait and runs into the house and comes back with this HEAVY wood plaque that has a bike race inscription on it. She wanted to gift it to me, but I had to turn her down. I thanked her profusely though for the thought.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The shop is on the left not far from the homestay. Look for the green gates and sign. The guy on the right was their next customer and got in on the photo action too. However, this pic was better even though he hasn't joined the crew yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice view from the bridge that I ended up not crossing
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stayed on the rural river road a bit longer
Heart 1 Comment 0

And then I hit the main road and traffic hell.  Thankfully, I didn't have to stay on it too long as I made my way to Hanthana Mount View - Lodge.

Triple room for a double room price. It was there only room left. Sold!
Heart 0 Comment 0

They told me check in wasn't until 2:00, but they knew I wanted to go to the gardens which was now walking distance.  In the end, they were really nice and made up the room except for the larger bed as they were waiting for laundry to return.  I said I could make up the bed later myself, but at least my stuff is stored securely.

Off to the gardens I go, but not before I find a bakery with sweet treats!  How have I not discovered this sooner!  Ha ha.  I paid the $6,000 rupees as a foreigner (about $10 US) for admission and was given a map.  Well, that's an improvement at least.

The gardens were beautiful and it was nice to get some walking in, but I was kind of bored and afterwards felt like that $10 could have been better spent elsewhere.  I also think it had something to do with being by myself.  Probably much more enjoyable if you are walking with someone.  Instead, I put on episode 3 of Corey Hart's new podcast which kept me entertained while I aimlessly wandered.

Ready for some flower pictures :)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Meanwhile, across the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wow!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The VERY shaky suspension bridge. They only let you go half way across and then the guy whistles people back. He restricts the amount of people, but I'm pretty sure we were over the limit anyways
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Suspension bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Talk about ivy!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grooming time
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great photo!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This tree had red shoots coming off of it. I liked it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 1,072 miles (1,725 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great walk!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago