Dec. 31st - Vang Vieng - New Year's Eve - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 31, 2024

Dec. 31st - Vang Vieng - New Year's Eve

Goodbye 2023

The Laos rivers are really testing my resolve!!  I went tubing again today, because, hey, for $5, why not?  It's fun.  Since I'm experienced now, and it was a younger crowd this time, I set off down the river by myself.  No time to waste stopping at bars.  I did learn that only three bars are open per day and they rotate them.  Again, back to the number of people that were killed per day.  I heard today the number was much higher than what was reported.

This is the life...until it's not ...
Heart 1 Comment 0

Now, I tend to worry (okay, be paranoid) 😂 about animal encounters.  My luck hasn't been the best in that department and let's be honest, I'm a little too fascinated by "animal attack stories" which is really not healthy reading material for someone like me!  Anyways, because of that, I didn't like to float backwards so I can see where I am going and what's in the river.  There are some rock obstacles and branches at times.  So, I'm worrying about snakes and crocodiles even though there are not crocs in this river.  My worries are legit!! Low and behold, a snake is crossing the river in front of me!  By the time I saw it, it was just past where I was centered thank goodness.  I pointed it out to the kayakers coming up behind me and they yelled out, "Anaconda!"  Funny.  Not funny when I am in a flimsy tube.  Ha ha. 

Don't know what it was of course, but there are DEADLY snakes here! 😯 Remember, I saw a snake alongside the footpath at our bar stop the other day.   I don't think I'm meant to float the river anymore!

Snake sighting aside, another fun afternoon and a perfect way to spend my last day of 2023!  I should also mention a lot of the kayaks seem to have guides.  A lot of Asians kayaking, and I swear, everyone is wearing their life jacket.  I'm guessing swimming isn't that cultures strong suit.  The guides like to use their paddles to splash the people in tubes.  Since I was basically alone all day, I seemed to be their favorite targe!  All in good fun.

Kids playing with a less than sturdy bamboo raft
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look closely and you can see some restaurants along the river
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did actually wander around this evening thinking it might be a little crazy in town, but surprisingly, it seemed pretty calm.  Proof that the chaotic party craze of it's past is a thing of the past.  I'm okay with that.

I wandered around and found this tiny kitten.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And this grumpy cat. He was scared by all the fireworks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Time to celebrate
Heart 2 Comment 0

Actually, I came back to my room and stayed up until midnight when all hell broke loose with fireworks.  I also saw some lanterns in the sky.   Always a neat sight.  I celebrated on Facebook with my friends in the other half of the world.   I must admit, for some reason I got a little choked up at midnight.  Just felt blessed to be here and know I have many adventures ahead.  It's also one of my favorite holidays (4th of July being the other.)

Cheers to all of you following along and Happy New Year!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great way to spend New Year’s Eve!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago