Dec. 30th - Vang Vieng - moving hotels - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2023

Dec. 30th - Vang Vieng - moving hotels

I wanted to stay in Vang Vieng for New Years Eve, but that necessitate switching hotels to one with a vacancy.  I totally lucked out!  Accommodations have improved immensely!  All for $23 per night and breakfast is included.   Most importantly, the bed is heaven!  It's funny, I asked for a different room with a better view, which they gave me.  I had tried to ask if all the rooms were the same.  They are not.  Back to this beauty I go.  I love all the space!  I am going to enjoy my (minimum) three nights here!  I even have a fridge again!  Finally!  (It's the little things.)

I've got a huge room. Trust me, I looked at a bunch of other rooms when housekeeping had all the doors open. I have the best one!
Heart 1 Comment 0
This hotel caters to Chinese tour groups so I am in the minority here, but I'm enjoying a lot of down time in a comfortable setting
Heart 1 Comment 0

After getting situated, I went out for a bike ride and a little reconnaissance.  Just for fun, I'll show you a picture of one of two bridges I had to cross.   I also noticed one of the bridges was in another blog as closed down as no longer safe.  Ummm, it was open when I was there.  Hope the repairs were good, but I have my doubts. 

The reopened bridge. The "safer" of the two thanks to the solid sheets of metal planking. Just don't go off of it without looking to see where you are stepping first!
Heart 1 Comment 0

 It was a little nerve wracking every time I crossed it - even walking because you have to keep an eye out for motorcycles coming and going as well.

Ummm, what do do. Didn't even attempt to ride my bike across this shaky bridge until a few days later.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pick a path, then change to avoid the gaping holes and rotting, broken planks. Totally safe. 😯
Heart 1 Comment 0

Hot air ballooning is a thing here and a friend recommended I do it.  I'd seen some departing further out of town on one of my bike rides so I was headed out to this airplane departure place I had seen before.  The lady said they depart in the evening on the other road a few kilometers away.  Anyways, I rode randomly around and didn't find them, which was fine.  I realized I'd lost my water bottle though and kept an eye out for it.  Didn't find it.  Dang it!  

Instead of going straight to the bridge to cross the river I checked out the other way and found some hot air balloons flying practicaly along the river.  Now, having read they aren't able to steer, I really thought it was about to crash land!  It wasn't, but suffice to say, I'll definitely be going with the French run operation.  It has better reviews and I feel the safety is a little bit more thorough.  Besides, it's more out of town and I'd rather see the mountains from above than this town.

Looking straight up. Looks cool!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ummm, aren't you flying a bit low?! I had fun following along on my bike waiting for the crash that never happened. All part of the plan 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is one fast food place in town. Mostly hamburgers, fries and chicken. One night I ordered a custard type dessert tart. Imagine my disappointment when I saw how tiny it was. It's the same size as the ketchup holder for one. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 386 miles (621 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0