April 13 - Playa Jibacoa and Getting Ready: Happy Birthday Dad! - Cuba off of the Map (Tours 10 & 11) - 2010 & 2011 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2010

April 13 - Playa Jibacoa and Getting Ready: Happy Birthday Dad!

THE PLAN was to be up at 7 am, but there was no way - I slept another 30 or 40 minutes then finally got up and continued assembling the bikes and bags. It did not take long before everything was ready to go. It looks like I brought all of the tools along after all!

After breakfast I saw Reynoel, who people may remember from last year. His daughter-in-law works as a teacher in nearby Canasi. Last year we brought photos of the school children in Canasi to hand out and brought them some pens and meds. I went back to the room where I picked up a bag of pens and a few boxes of surgical gloves for him to bring to the school and to the medical clinic in Canasi. He remembered us from last year and was very thankful on their behalf. Then we ran into Ailec who came by to tell us that she had found us a Casa Particular in Cojimar for tomorrow night. I went and purchased a Habana map from the small hotel shop and she showed me the best route to take us there. By making our way right to Cojimar it makes the following day through the city much shorter. I think we will be fine crossing Habana; however, it is a big and busy city, so I want to have time to get through safely and find a place in Playa Baracoa before it gets too late.

On the eve of our cycling trip through Cuba, we returned to our room after the poolside show to pack the last few things and rested up for tomorrow - the big day!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0