Booking the Ticket and Making my Packing List: Why me? - Cuba off of the Map (Tours 10 & 11) - 2010 & 2011 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2010

Booking the Ticket and Making my Packing List: Why me?

ON MY list of things to do has been to cycle from Havana or Varadero to the province of Pinar del Rio. I kept postponing the trip and it just never happened. A few days ago it was looking most probable that it would happen... until yesterday when I checked the status of the flights available to see that the one day I could go was the one vacuum when it came to cheaper flights. Every other day had them, but not the 12th of April. Is this a sign of some kind? Something telling me that if I pay more the trip will be WAY more enjoyable. After all, you get what you pay for? If that philosophy is true, with having to pay to bring the bike on the plane, I guess I will get superior service and baggage-handling. Yes, I'm sure.

Step by step.... flights booked. Parking in TO booked. Some hotels in Cuba booked.

I think I'll hold back a little this time on my list of things to bring. If I come up with something new and particularly clever to bring I'll be sure to mention it. At this point, the only irregular touring stuff would be meds and supplies to be donated as we pedal along like we did in 2009. Not only is it contributing something much-needed to the residents of Cuba, but along the route the load will become lighter and lighter. I have to say I kind of like that idea! This being said, my plan is to bring along the BOB trailer - I like the way it tracks and the load it can carry. I'm not trying to open the panniers vs trailer debate... I have used both and like both. Some of the roads may be a little rough so I prefer the idea of spreading the weight over three axles instead of two.

Cool stuff to bring: digicam, Sony bike radio to salsa up and down the mountains, kevlar-belted tires to keep those pesky thorns at bay, spare spokes - because you'll break them on the drive side of the rear wheel when you're somewhere that hasn't the tools to replace them

I have already had a few people ask what they can do to help. One family even brought over a box of surgical gloves which will go to doctors in medical centres and bags and bags of pens, pencils and crayons - likely the majority of which will go to schools along the way.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0