xNHAT - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2021

xNHAT

    The last room in Woodsville would be stuffy in all seasons in the All Seasons Motel. We had a gas station breakfast out on the lawn. My Northern Tier buddy Ed would be proud. I started riding on the Cross New Hampshire Adventure Trail (xNHAT) at 9 am. The morning was cool and gray with showers in the forecast. The trail appeared to be an old rail line used by ATV clubs; it was sandy and washboarded in a few spots but manageable with my worn 1.5 inch tires. It followed the Ammonoosuc River and passed under a long covered bridge.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Mark Binghamvery scenic!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Peter BrownMark, I asked cycleblaze to share my contact info with you. I have a few questions about Albany to Montreal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I thought if the trail stays like this to Maine I will be a happy man because it was flat and following a river.

   In Lisbon, the trail diverted from the rail trail and picked up on a road on the other side of the river that rose above it. I guess a few hills were called for. After a mile and a half, we rejoined the rail trail. I had about 8 more miles of ATV/rail trail when I arrived at Littleton.

Pedestrian Bridge into Littleton
Heart 1 Comment 0

Littleton was a bustling town and also the beginning of the road ride. Twelve miles of road with a flat tire thrown in for haha’s. I should have gone with the new tube right away. This primary road had a great shoulder for most of the ride.

  Whitefield had the facilities to add more air to my new tube. It started drizzling outside of Whitefield and by the time I made it a few miles it was a deluge that lasted a few long minutes. I took refuge under some pines with mixed results. A wet ride on the beautiful, well drained Presidential Trail and River Road brought me to my patient better half at the Israel River Campgrounds who had waited for me more than three hours. The camp host was great letting her park there and even said we were welcome to use the restrooms.

  We nabbed a room at the Lantern Inn in Jefferson and a BBQ meat feast at  Smokin T’s Bar & Grill in Lancaster. A car ride to Littleton produced the best tire Walmart offered. While I changed the tire a spoke popped and I noticed another broken one. An internet search said The White Mountain Bike Shop in Franconia had Sunday hours. Since they opened at 9 am. I may get my ride in.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 161 miles (259 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0