Woodbury, New Hampshire - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2021

Woodbury, New Hampshire

  We started the day with a fancy schmancy breakfast on the veranda of the Montpelier Inn. The day began cloudy and remained that way. I rode down to the Capitol and started east on the bike path.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The Cross Vermont Trail put me on Route 2. I found a parallel bike path and rode it out to an almost-finished bridge.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After crossing the bridge I was dumped onto Route 2. It started off promising with a wide shoulder that quickly devolved into a two-foot shoulder. The road had lots of traffic, mostly Subarus and pick-ups with the occasional tractor trailer to rattle the brave bicyclist. I endured 13.3 miles of Route 2.

  At Marshfield I left the highway and proceeded up the steepest hill of the day. My granny gear and granny knees got a workout, but we were on dirt. The trail turned onto an old railroad bed that was now a road with a slight uphill grade.Four miles in, I crossed a State Forest Road and the CVT started utilizing nicely-maintained snowmobile trails. The grade changed to downhill. It felt as if I rode almost all downhill till the New Hampshire border.

Heart 3 Comment 0

It was magical, mostly through the woods, past lakes, a campground in Groton and back onto someone’s Memorial Highway to keep me grounded.

  I rolled through Wells River over the bridge into Woodsville, New Hampshire. Woodsville smells of cowshit, nevertheless I nabbed the last hotel room in town at the quite basic, yet clean All Seasons Motel. My Lady Love and I lunched at Jamie Lynn’s Kitchen. My burger hit the spot. A 42 mile day. I am icing my knees.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 118 miles (190 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Glenn HintonKnee icing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago