Conclusion - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

Conclusion

   The two trails in Vermont and New Hampshire were great. September is a perfect time of year to ride this part of the world. I generally had excellent weather. My least favorite parts were the road rides on the primary roads, Route 2 in Vermont, and Route 116 in New Hampshire. But this was a small price to pay for scenic vistas, quiet farm roads, rivers and rail trails running alongside each other, deer, grouse, barking dogs,fall-crazed squirrels and chipmunks, the crunch of bike tires on gravel, solitude and quiet.

   My average hotel stay was $131 a night. My average sitdown meal for two was $45, the lunches being cheaper. I probably spent under $300 in cash for incidentals, fast breakfasts, snacks, ice cream. The bike repair and tune up cost $100. A rough estimate of cost for the week including gas and tire wear would be $1300 for two people, one riding, one driving.

    I downloaded the rides from RidewithGPS and used the navigation. Usually with the sound off. The Vermont Trail had better signage. On the New Hampshire Trail I saw about four signs and they were in Maine.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I printed paper maps from the Cross Vermont Trail Association website. Marianne Borowski of xNHAT mailed me a map and stickers, fastened with a cool bicycle-shaped paper clip. I want to thank both organizations for doing all the hard work of putting these two trails together. Most of all I want to thank my wife Cathy for all the love, support and good humor in helping me achieve my ridiculous goals.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Glenn HintonGoals ARE NOT ridiculous!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago