Mountpelier - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2021

Mountpelier

Heart 0 Comment 0

   I started pedalling at about 8:15 and promptly headed away from the trail intersection. I began my journey from South Burlington and the hotel parking lot. I missed a few miles from the official start, the Earth Clock.

Burlington Earth Clock
Heart 0 Comment 0

I looped around on a too-busy road and connected with the trail. I passed a few more Mom & Pop-style hotels that looked okay from the road, at least in the morning fog. There was the Swiss Host and the Ethan Allen. The trail went into a suburban development and snaked around homes, soccer fields and tennis courts. Some of this was on a shared path.

  After suburbia, the Cross Vermont Trail put me on a dirt road near the Catamount cross country ski complex. After a thrilling downhill through the woods, I popped out on to a bucolic farm road. I could see the Camel's Hump in the distance.

Heart 4 Comment 0

The rest of the ride was a mix of road, gravel and a bit of smooth single track. Four miles of bad road with a miniscule shoulder east of Waterbury on Route 2 was unpleasant. It was a hilly ride in the Green Mountain State.The route followed the Winooski River into Montpelier with it’s gold-domed State capitol. My honey spied me as I rolled into the Capitol and we had an unfortunate lunch served cold at Julio’s. We nabbed a reasonable room at the Montpelier Inn through Booking.com. Which was cheaper than the front desk could offer me. There are a great many things I don’t understand about modern life. We had a satisfying pasta dinner at Sarducci’s.

  I did about 44 miles today. My knees ache a bit but still, it was a top ten day.

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 75 miles (121 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0