Getting to the kickoff: Locked and Loaded - Crocodile Dreaming - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2013

Getting to the kickoff: Locked and Loaded

Tomorrow morning (8 June) the big drive starts. My son Joe and I will begin heading to Darwin which is about 4200 km away. This will be the first step to get to Kununurra by the 24 June in readiness to cycle the Gibb River Road from Kununurra to Derby. There is a quite a bit to do before then though.

The other riders will be flying to Kununurra. I have their bikes, equipment and food in the car to cart to the beginning of the ride.

The bikes are loaded and ready for a long drive, about 5000 km from Canberra to Kununurra via Darwin.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Step 1: Drive to Darwin via Alice Springs from Canberra
Heart 0 Comment 0
Step 2: After a stay in Darwin, the drive will back-track to Katherine, then turn toward Kununurra in Western Australia. Kununurra will be the start of the ride and and where I'll meet John and Will. Before the ride start, my wife and I will do a car tour from Kununurra to Broome where I'll store the car. On the way through Kununurra, I'll drop off the bikes and touring equipment with friend Mitch Firth who lives near Kununurra.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Gibb River Road. Kununurra to Derby which is the cycle touring part of this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0