I Caught Covid - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2022

I Caught Covid

It was astonishing how fast this came on because I felt a little woozy on Wednesday night after the gym, then did an antigen test the following morning.  Negative.  Later at school I did a PCR swab, since they let me enter with a 24hr negative test from the day before.

But I could tell something was off as throughout the day I started developing a low grade fever and headache.  This was confirmed that it was covid as I did another antident test about 12hrs after the first one

Heart 0 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesOh damn. Whose test is this? Here is hoping it is mild and recovery is swift.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltHope it is no worse than mine last Jan... So mild, I only checked because my wife insisted. Nose ran a bit more than normal, cough a bit more than normal and fever that spiked at 100 degrees for 2 days. No headache, sore throat, weakness, loss of smell etc. Stupid test swab made me sneeze and nose run for a bit though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Here's the proof: covid positive
Heart 0 Comment 0

In terms of symptoms the obvious ones were there but not very serious: a slight fever, headache, and later cough.   If you didn't tell me this was covid then I wouldn't know.  This mimics the sicknesses I've had in the past as usually happens about once or twice a year.  But the main difference with this one is the body is taking longer to fight the virus and there is excessive fatigue.  This symptom of tiredness would trump any of the others greatly that is for sure 

As much as I am anti-lockdown, I would be lying if getting covid didn't make me worried.  It's just because of all the past propaganda.  It made us all overly sanitized.  We were naive to the virus and scared of losing our covid virginity.  It's one thing to say that covid is just a cold or flu, which it certainly is.  It is another thing to put that belief to the test.  As more and more people will get covid, I hope they'll have similar experiences as mine and realize they can trust the science:  this thing is no worse than a flu.

Based on when I got covid, an fairly good estimation is that I was one of the first 10% due to a school with high transmission.  Most people now are holed up in their homes scared shitless they'll get it next and trying to avoid it.  I'm here to say it's not a big deal.

The graphic estimation below shows where we currently are on the trajectory.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Andrea BrownWell, crap.
Get well fast, take it easy now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago