D55: 洪塘 → 芦溪 - A China Coddiwomple - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2022

D55: 洪塘 → 芦溪

More main road today. At least when I start out, it's not the sort of divided highway truck route that's one step down from being a limited access expressway. Still, it is neither inspiring nor interesting though there's the slight possibility that—despite watering the wine (a practice which somehow managed to accentuate the vinegar flavor)—this opinion may, in part, come from my having a hangover.

I thought I was going to make it to a particular museum that had been mentioned by a fan in private messaging but, the usual late start, and the time spent getting distracted by things that normal people don't find all that interesting¹ mean that it's already approaching fairly late when I get into Luxi and, with regards to my call for help about finding a place to fix my shoe, in among the people who clearly couldn't be bothered to listen to all the words in a 28 second message, a few people have suggested the "so obvious I can't believe I didn't think of it" option of looking to see if any Shoe Repair places are listed on Maps and there are!

My remaining sunlight is used up in finding the first place, waiting around for the owner to come back from wherever he was, being told he can't do what I need, having him walk me down the street to what is conveniently the second place on Maps, being told they also can't help me, and getting adopted by a bright eyed and bushy tailed tweenager who seems to belong to the shop across the alley from First Shoe Repair place and who is absolutely determined to help me find someone who can fix my shoes.

Neither of the shoe stores she takes me to is a match but, after we split up, she comes back to me to show me an honest to goodness probably what I'm looking for shopfront with a "sorry I'm not here right now, call me at" number posted.

I was thinking about being lazy and just going to one of the hotels nearest to where we currently are but when I make my way round the various barriers down the middle of the street and double check on Maps on the phone that has access to my money, both of them have listed themselves as not accepting foreigners.

If possible, I prefer to go with places that haven't started out by telling me I'm unwelcome so I muck about in Maps for awhile before I find something that costs half as much and which doesn't explicitly say they don't want me. (There's also an even cheaper option but I don't want to go that low).

I'm expecting hassle when checking in and I get some. They were actually pretty chill about letting me behind the front desk, where I get to discover their preferred copy of their two versions of the registration software they have on their desktop has a "Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan" option but does not have a foreigner option.

This would kind of bring my count for the computer "literally didn't have a way to register me" up to something like 10 hotels total over the years except for the part where they simultaneously had two different versions of the software on their computer and, once I had registered myself on VersionThatAcceptsMe, the VersionThatDoesNotAcceptMe was able to show that I had checked in!

¹ Oh look, a bridge!²

² To be perfectly fair, it was a 400 year old bridge

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 3,219 km (1,999 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0