C1: 吴店 - A China Coddiwomple - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2022

C1: 吴店

It's been years and years and years since the last time my hotel shared premises with a scrap recycling yard
Heart 0 Comment 0

C is for Cookie (that's good enough for me).

C is also for Covid Controls.

I'm still feeling a bit rough from the way the previous day ended but that's not why I'm staying in Wudian. I'm staying because, even if none of my codes have changed color, I've officially received a text message from Epidemic Prevention and Control as a time and space tracked secondary contact.

It's on the phone that got left behind in Shifosi without me so the overlapping time that my digital footprint was connected to the same mobile phone mast as one of the close contacts of a Covid positive individual has to have been then. Otherwise, both phones would be getting notifications.

As a time and space tracked contact, I have 72 hours from being notified in which to complete two NAT with at least a 24 hour gap between them. Particularly since I'm already falling through the cracks of databases that don't believe I exist, even if I was really sure there was basically no way I actually came in close enough contact to an infected person as to be a risk, I don't know what (if anything) will happen to me if I don't do this.

The EP&C worker giving me my Covid swab didn't want to be in the photo
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I was yellow coded in Haikou a few months back, I was already going so few places that check your status that I didn't even realize until the second day, and then only because I had opened the app to show someone else how to do things.

I've got three friends in the States who currently have Omicron. All boosted. All with vaccines substantially more effective than the Chinese one. All on a full regime of drugs like Paxlovid. All miserable as fuck in a "never felt this bad in my life" type way. So, even if I wasn't completely fine with the idea of curling into a ball until hunger drove me out of the room, I would have obediently gone for my second swab (Tianping at the hotel being the first) and stayed put anyways.

It's really quite hot and "walking distance" means different things to different people.

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 2,257 km (1,402 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0