R1: 半墅山 - A China Coddiwomple - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2022

R1: 半墅山

My chocolate covered coffee beans have melted together and it was imperative that I fix my stove
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got my rest day today. 

It primarily consisted of resting. It also consisted of a walk to the closest store to buy a cigarette lighter (as lighting the stove would probably burn off whatever crud was preventing the piezoelectric starter from firing), and a breakfast outside the hotel that has me convinced that eating in restaurants in Hebei is going to be a massive pain in the ass.

The Covid stats for Beijing have convinced me that it's probably safe for me to bike across the northern edge of the Municipality. As recently as 72 hours before my flight to Tangshan, I would have needed two C19 tests within 48 hours with a minimum 24 hour gap between them; but, when I went to check, I only needed one.

Traditional Chinese style wheelbarrows are a surprisingly interesting topic
Heart 1 Comment 0

Therefore, the announcement that guesthouses and small hotels can reopen today and that indoor dining can resume from the 3rd has me feeling that the risk of getting caught up in a 48 hour hold is worth it when compared to an additional week in Hebei. Also, I think Hebei will annoy me less after I've had a break from the stupidity of this non-working but mandatory Health Code.

Tomorrow, I will go to the Xinglong County 兴隆县 county seat. I will hope that my already not hurting (but still tense enough that I wish one of the five massage places I've counted in town was open) leg is recovered. I will pick up my power bank from where the Tangshan Specialized has sent it and I will get ready to travel to Beijing's Miyun District¹.

Appropriately, the North Korean style noodles are basically broth with a few shrimp flakes
Heart 1 Comment 0
View of mountains and an abandoned school out my window
Heart 0 Comment 0

¹ I'll spare you my linguistics based rant on the word 市 and why Miyun is actually a city.

Today's ride: 1 km (1 miles)
Total: 250 km (155 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0