Day 77: Halfway to Baker City: (actually, I made it all the way to Baker City!) - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2006

Day 77: Halfway to Baker City: (actually, I made it all the way to Baker City!)

Our barnyard campsite in Halfway...forgot to take a picture before I took my tent down, though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Well, this "welcome to oregon" sign is a little more official!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I didn't feel like being around a lot of people this morning, but that was such a minor thing in comparison to what the locals were facing. Halfway's local fairgrounds was being turned into a base for fire fighting operations and a tent city for evacuees. I rode past wondering whether we'd be able to get through the fires we had heard were near the route a few days ahead.

OK, so way back earlier in the trip, Helen called Alvin an uncivilized barbarian. I found these "Barbaric" headlines back in Eads, CO, and Alvin finally got them put on Donkey at Halfway, OR. We were greatly amused.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fairgrounds at Halfway were becoming a staging area for fighting the fires--and some displaced residents from nearby found themselves camping out here, too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing out of Halfway
Heart 2 Comment 0

I left with Jacques, who'd happily slept in a bed in a hotel room the previous night but complained about how the group had waken him up early to lay out breakfast in his room. We had a pleasant ride to Richland where second breakfast was to be had. I knew Maik and Stefan were running a little low on funds, so I tried to pay their tab and leave before they found out, but the waitress spoiled my surprise on the way out. They probably would have ordered a lot more if they thought ahead of time that I would pay! But they were genuinely grateful. So many people have helped me on this trip or paid for meals that it was small repayment for hospitality I'd received.

Breakfast for Maik and Stefan (Radko, Jacques, and I had second breakfast here, too)
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was a service-free day after that first twelve miles. I must say that I really appreciate things like gas stations and such on the days when I can't stop at one for a cold drink. I rode with Toni and Helen for a while before Helen decided to slow down a bit, but Toni and I continued putzing along slowly, but sharing stories and womanly conversation helped the hot uphill miles go by a little faster than our pace would indicate.

We had plenty of liquids with us, but water temperature eventually approaches air temperatures, even with bottles buried deep in panniers, so Toni and I talked a lot about ice and cold Pepsis on the way up some of the hills. We even joked about flagging someone down to see if they'd get us some. Then up ahead we saw an Oregon DOT vehicle. Toni hollered out that she was going to go see if they had any Pepsi and surged up the hill before the vehicle could get away! Well, they didn't have Pepsi, but Jamie did give us plenty of cool, refreshing, much appreciated water. Robert came along and got a refill, too. Jamie stopped us again a few miles later to top us off again. What an awesome trail angel!

Jamie of the Oregon DOT was a great encouragement today--brought us cool water twice!!!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Toni and I began collecting other members of the group. Ron and Helen had stopped at the Oregon Trail center, but it looked closed, so I tried to keep on going. But then Ron was standing up on the hill off the road where the center was yelling and waving, so I thought something was wrong. It sounded like 'We need water,' and I thought maybe Helen was out of water or something, so I turned around and rode up the hill to find nothing wrong-he was just trying to tell me there was water up there. I had plenty, but the spigot on the side of the road provided plenty of cool water for saturating my shirt before heading into Baker City.

Helen and I on the Oregon Trail...I think we'll take the paved option into town!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I hadn't made overnight arrangements for Baker City, but the group had gotten a great rate at a hotel, so I decided to see about staying there, too. I badly wanted AC and a long shower without bugs or slime or crying babies or any of the other undesirable elements often found in campground showers. And I was in for a treat. A two-room suite for less than $35!!! While the group was checking in, we gave Toni and Wil a hard time about having been stuck in a room with twin beds (it wasn't true-we just wanted to see their reaction). I lugged Kert up the stairs into the room, guzzled part of the giant Pepsi I'd waited so long for (ok, it was only a few hours, but it felt like a long time in that heat!), and showered.

If you're ever in need of a hotel room in Baker City, the Oregon Trail Motel was awesome. Rhonda went WAY out of her way to make sure everyone had everything taken care of. At some point earlier in the day, Jim started having bike/trailer trouble and had abandoned his trailer along the road. Rhonda arranged transportation for him to go back and get it. Alvin wanted to make arrangements for a going away party for Jacques, who was unable to finish the trip with the group because his visa was expiring. Rhonda took care of that. All I wanted was AC, so I took care of that!

I eventually emerged from my room and all but decided to stay there a second day, putting off chores that should have been done that evening in favor of relaxation. Had a nice dinner with Alvin at a little brew pub that gave me the best beer of the trip, but as much as I wanted to stay there and have another, I wanted even more to take advantage of sleeping with pillows!

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 3,957 miles (6,368 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0