Day 62: Flagg to Grant (Yellowstone) - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2006

Day 62: Flagg to Grant (Yellowstone)

Two months in! Not much fun riding today--slow in the morning getting out of bed, slow uphill riding, lotsa traffic by 9:30, too far to the next campground, and I'm just tired. Deciding whether to do a bus tour tomorrow or just get moving. Probably better keep moving. I feel like I need a vacation from my vacation, sort of. Maybe I should have stayed that extra day in Jackson. So today I stopped around lunch time and didn't go do any tourist things. Took myself out for a nice lunch, bought some pink socks that were on sale, ate some oreos, and went to bed really early. Yellowstone isn't a very fun place to be by yourself when you're tired and not in a car.

Saw Tim on the way back from dinner, and he gave me a bad time about not doing their route today--I just wasn't in the mood for the FIVE continental divide crossings they did. Four were unloaded, but still...it's my vacation and I didn't want to do anything today.

Entering yellowstone and anticipating terrible traffic...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lewis canyon--fire damage from 1988 still visible
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lewis falls (have to double check the name...)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Didn't particularly feel like crossing the divide again today, even if it was a relatively low one
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yellowstone is a coke place. Yuk.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 3,118 miles (5,018 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0