Day 61: Jackson to Flagg Ranch: Just S of Yellowstone - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2006

Day 61: Jackson to Flagg Ranch: Just S of Yellowstone

Wanted to sleep in bad...could get sucked into staying another day--or more--in Jackson. Wanted to hitch a ride out of town since it was just backtracking what I'd already ridden back to the main route, but I got on my bike and found the ride provided some good thinking time. I haven't seen the same road twice for months, and the Tetons are just so gorgeous it was worth riding by them again.

Backtracking back through the park on the way out of Jackson Hole
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting in line to get back into the park
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't like waiting in line...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yup, they're still pretty today!
Heart 1 Comment 0
More pretties
Heart 3 Comment 0

Met a couple doing day trips by classic Vespa who were really interested in the trip, and while I was talking to them, Erie and Tim showed up. After leaving the Vespa couple, the three of us stopped at a lodge for drinks and a snack and just sat there looking at the mountains and talking about art.

Erie talking to fellow wanderers travelling by Vespa
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jackson Lake from the campsite I decided not to stay in because it was too early and too buggy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Almost stayed at Lizard campground instead of getting to Flagg Ranch since it was so pretty and right on the lake (and looking at a lake is better than looking at a bunch of RVs any day), but it was really too early to stop and there were a lot of flies that would have interfered with my enjoyment of the lake. Oh well.

I had a great hill coming down into Flagg ranch and hit 40 mph, starting to see signs of the 1988 fires through the area. Made some phone calls from the pay phone at the camp while Tim and Erie ate at the lodge, talked to our campground neighbors, a father/daughter motorcycling team touring the western US, and tried to stay dry through intermitent rainshowers. I wasn't much into my bike ride today, so the rain just topped it off. And it's going to be a cold night. Maybe next time I'll bring a dog to keep me warm on these chilly nights.

Sarah and Ben, father/daughter motorcycle tourers, talk to Tim at Flagg Ranch just outside Yellowstone
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 3,089 miles (4,971 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0