Day 36: El Dorado to Newton - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2006

Day 36: El Dorado to Newton

With predictions of 20-40 mph winds and 98 degree temps, I left the comfort of the Super 8 for the heat of the road, planning to stop in Newton for library time, check in with the AC group if they were near the route (they had a rest day in Newton today), and head on to Bueler. So much for that plan.

Why Drive???
Heart 0 Comment 0
This feed lot, coupled with extremely strong winds from that direction, conspired to cover me in a fine feed lot dust...yuk
Heart 0 Comment 0

Because I was off route, the road was a little busier, which was no problem most of the way because of a generous shoulder, but the wind kept getting worse and worse. Every time a truck would pass in either direction, I'd get tossed around on the road. Trucks coming up behind me would give me this huge but unpredictable push forward, while those coming from the other way sometimes made me feel like I'd been slapped backwards by a wad of pizza dough. All the while fighting a side wind so hard I was leaning into it to keep my balance. Then the shoulder disappeared and the mental and physical determination needed to keep a straight line wasn't worth the miles I would have made had I kept going. As soon as I got to Newton, I had to stop for DQ.

At that stop, cold ice cream and slushy mix in hand, I decided to run by the park bikers usually camp at and check it out. Somehow I was still thinking about going on, but Kert (and the wiser, (or lazier) part of me) had other ideas and made sure we were going to stop. Alvin was at the camp and was just ready to head to the library, so I followed him (we got lost), got my rental car reservation taken care of, and found a cheap but good Mexican place for lunch. I had dumped my bags at the camp but hadn't set anything up, thinking if the wind died down I might make it at least one town farther, but that didn't happen. Promises of a good shower at the nearby pool and good company for the afternoon prevailed and I decided to stay in Newton. Alvin said I improved the looks of the group by staying (but also that Adventure Cycling doesn't allow tag-along riders for more than three days at a time ). He said there were ways to officially join the group if I wanted to, but I didn't want to lose my independent status. Besides, I have 4 days off the road when my mom comes in and who knows where they'll be by the time I pick up again.

It's a good thing I decided to stay in Newton tonight, though, because local biker and apparently website fan stopped by the park this afternoon, thinking I might be there, and brought PEPSI.

Gail, a local cyclist, tracked me down at the Newton park and brought Pepsi!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Local artist had been working on this stone sculpture for over a year. He was patiently explaining his work to some curious kids.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I took a walk around downtown Newton in the evening around dinner time, but I was too hot to eat much myself. I got back to camp kind of late, and Matt, another solo rider, was there. We talked for a little while, but he had to get set up before it got any darker than it already was, so I left him to his business. I looked at the maps and was trying to figure out a way to not rush unnecessarily to Pueblo but also not be with the group the whole way across Kansas. The way services are spaced, I'd either have to do a really long day or two, or a short one and let them get ahead, but we are scheduled to be in Pueblo on the same day, so I don't know what's going to happen. I suppose I could try to get ahead and take a rest day toward the end of the state (which I probably need soon), but I don't really want to. Everyone has been very gracious, but I don't want to go against AC guidelines, either.

I was really restless and not very tired after a couple of short days of riding, so I called my bro for his birthday and went walking along the creek/river thing near the park. It was a beautiful night with clear stars and cool breezes. Alvin joined me for a while as we talked about grad school and bikes and whatever else. Eventually went to bed with trains coming through what seemed like every few minutes, but once I was asleep, I was gone. Good thing because I was planning for an early start to try to beat the wind.

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,840 miles (2,961 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0