Day 35: Eureka to El Dorado, KS - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2006

Day 35: Eureka to El Dorado, KS

Piddled around in the morning getting ready-I knew I had only 30-some miles to do, so it was no big deal, but it must have been after 8 when I left camp. Stopped to get water and found two of the group members trying to call places to rent a car to let Les rest his bad saddle sore/boil thingy, but they weren't having much luck. I suggested calling moving companies, too, and headed on my way through the final stretches of the flint hills, saying my goodbyes to the group as I wasn't sure when our paths would cross next.

Heart 3 Comment 0
drying out in the kansas wind
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at a roadside picnic area just past Rosalia to let the brisk winds dry last night's dew off my tent since I wouldn't be needing it tonight! Tonight I get a bed and pillows! Made arrangements to meet Aunt Rita at the Super 8 in El Dorado and got a shower and sink laundry done before she got there on HER bike.

my aunt on HER bike
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the Super 8 parking lot...I'm sure someone could come up with a funny caption for this one!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We caught up on family stuff throughout the evening, and she took to a great chicken place called Stroud's near Witchita (on her bike not mine!). Later, mom called to make sure I was really ok and Rita reported that I was fine and just had some funny tan lines. Then it was TV, uploading some pics, and trying to make a decision about my schedule and how fast/far I have to go to meet my mom when she flies into Colorado. The only two places along the route where I can rent a car are Pueblo or Breckenridge, probably 3-4 days apart. Part of me really wanted to make it to Breckenridge and have Hoosier pass done before I take those days off. Mom really wants me to get past Pueblo (which she's heard isn't a very nice town). But that means pulling some big miles through windy Kansas and maybe not enjoying Colorado as much as I'd like to, and it doesn't leave me a lot of room for unexpected weather/events/breakdowns. So as much as my mom wants me to get to Breckenridge, I'm deciding to rent the car from Pueblo instead. Hitting Pueblo on the 23rd should be no problem schedule-wise. I just don't want to miss something because I'm rushing and I don't want to have to push big miles when I get back into the mountains. So there! Decision made, I sweep the maps off the bed and onto the floor. It's time for bed. With pillows!

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 1,794 miles (2,887 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0