Day 26: Carbondale to Chester - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2006

Day 26: Carbondale to Chester

I didn't set an alarm last night and hoped I could sleep in a little since the bike shops didn't open until 10, but I was awake before 6. I figured I'd go catch up on the website more at the SIU library since they opened at 7:30, but I still had plenty of time to bleach and steam and re-steam and boil and otherwise attempt to get the meadow fresh soapy smell out of my camelbak and clean some other stuff.--I must have run over a gallon of boiling water through there with moderate success.

Then I saw I had a flat, so I fixed that and inspected both wheels and tires. My rear tire seems to be wearing more on one half more than the other. I know my bag on the drive side is a little heavier, but it's the non-drive side that's wearing more. Any ideas why? And should I turn the tire the other direction now to get it worn out evenly (essentially reversing the tread pattern?) Balance the load better? Any knowledgable info in the guestbook would be appreciated. Maybe I'll try to get a pic up soon.

My rear tire was flat this morning when I woke up. Thanks a lot Carbondale!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Jeff LeeI know this is several years too late, but I might have some ideas about this tire wear mystery.

Let's meet later tonight and I will "mansplain" it.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago

Anyway, I still had time for an hour at the library and got pics uploaded before heading to the bike shops. Hit the legendary Bike Surgeon first. He didn't have the brake pads I wanted and recommended Carbondale Cycles, but he did have an appropriate seat to replace my Bad Brooks. We chatted about crazy things people carry on tour (a DESKTOP computer on a trailer was the worst he'd seen). I switched seats and was on my way with a happier butt.

Homegrown fixie bike on the SIU campus
Heart 0 Comment 0
The legendary Bike Surgeon...my seat savior!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Picked up too many groceries and headed to Murphysboro off route on highway 13 with a great shoulder on a smooth highway. That and a tailwind made for 6 good fast miles--it was nice to remember what it feels like to go fast.

Saw another biker go by while I had lunch but didn't catch him. Route 13 connects right into 149 (also off route), so I just kept on it, but I can't really recommend it. It was pretty hilly (although I think the levee alternative is hilly at this point, too) and I headed back over to the Levee alternative route at Grimsby where Town Creek road became Route 3, a blessedly level road with a great smooth shoulder. The shoulder didn't last after turning onto the backroads along the river, but neither did the traffic.

Sometimes things just strike you as funny out there on the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh so flat Mississippi flood plain!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road surface on the alternate route was rough in places, but I didn't care. I was flying along with a side and/or tail breeze racing toward Chester and hoping my mom's package to me was there (and hoping to make it to Chester before the PO closed).

Sad, sad sight. New Coke truck. Old Pepsi sign. Only a coke machine here :(
Heart 0 Comment 0
First sighting of the Mississippi along the levee route
Heart 0 Comment 0
Long, long coal train along the river--not sure if coal was moving to the river or away from it...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coal moving operation
Heart 1 Comment 0

Craig Brockhouse called me just as I was climbing toward Chester back on a now-busy and shoulderless route 3, gave me good directions to the park and offered to call the PO to check on my package. He said to call when I got there and he'd run me to the PO before it closed if my package was there. And it was!

Heart 2 Comment 0
I pick up a new ride at the city park
Heart 2 Comment 0

Craig took me to the PO and back to the park to rush off for a shower at the pool there while he headed home to start grilling. And dinner was AWESOME--great BBQ chops, veggies, potatoes, the works! Along with much entertainment as we tried to keep the dogs out of everything.

The spread Craig and his family put out for me!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's so hot the dogs are pretty thirsty, too
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went back to the park stuffed and ready to put my sunburned self to bed in the park's pavilion.

Even Ricky likes the new seat. A successful END to a good day of riding
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,252 miles (2,015 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0