Brief Update - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2006

Brief Update

Hi All--Not a whole lotta libraries here in the desolate (but sometimes beautiful) areas of Idaho and eastern Oregon, so you're gonna have to settle for a brief update at the moment. I've ridden through some beautiful forrests and along lots of rivers on this leg of the journey but we've had some very, very, very hot and dry weather to ride through that had me thoroughly exhausted on a couple of days, especially one long day into Halfway that had us riding through a wildfire striken area. Today is a day off in Baker City, Oregon. Hotel and everything.

The trip is definitely winding down--looking toward the end of the trip with mixed desire and dread. I'm ready to be done with some parts of the trip (no real pillow, setting up a tent every night, etc.) but dread going back to school/work and not having the familiar and simple routine that is this bike ride where all I have to worry about is me and eating/sleeping/biking. I'll be happier to get into a less desert-like area of Oregon, too, but I'm ready to make my run for the coast.

Thanks for following along--I'll update as I can, at least with pictures, but some of the updates are going to have to wait until I get home.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0