Hello Banana - Both Sides of Paradise - CycleBlaze

November 12, 2014

Hello Banana

[When the buses or boats stop there are usually women with trays of bananas on their heads and they say, "Hello banana."]

In 2002 Andrea and I met Glenn and Sheila Ord on a small boat going up the Nam Ou River in Laos. I remember it well; Glenn and I eating bananas together on a beach during a break in our voyage and Glenn stating simply, "Not all bananas are the same." Of course I knew not all bananas were the same but it struck me as a funny statement - two strangers standing there on the sand bar. What I didn't know, at that time, was that I was rubbing shoulders with a world class banana aficionado.

Through the years we've not only kept in contact with Glenn and Sheila but have become good friends. They are the most traveled people we know and they keep a fascinating travel site in which you will find funny, insightful writing, gorgeous photos and Glenn's "Banana Index" (How many bananas he's gotten for a dollar all over the world.) You should check it out here: https://sites.google.com/site/chickensrunamok/

And this leads me to tell of a recent banana debacle. Already on this trip Andrea and I have had some of the best bananas we have ever eaten. Both in Yangon and Bagan. They weren't especially cheap, something like 14 for a dollar, but they were so delicious that you couldn't eat just one.

But I had been remembering the bananas in Monywa six years ago which were not only the best but the cheapest ones I had ever bought. I think I bought 24 for a dollar! It was one reason I was looking forward to returning to Monywa. The other was peanuts but that's another story.

When we got to Monywa the other day - first things first - I went looking for bananas. But I couldn't find any, not even one!! During our three day stay in Monywa I searched for bananas in markets but to no avail. It was the strangest thing. No bananas? How could this be? I've never been anywhere in Asia that was out of bananas. There are always bananas. I was starting to think there was some weird banana boycott in Monywa.

Then, yesterday, we rode our bikes 17 miles down a tiny and terribly bumpy road way out in the country to an ancient Buddhist site that no tourists ever went to because it was so out of the way. On that bad road we found bananas for sale! I don't know if I went a little crazy because of banana deprivation or if a miscommunication occurred but something went awry in the transaction. I picked out a bunch of about 14 bananas and the woman said a price that was way too much. Not knowing English at all I think she made a mistake in her numbers. It seemed she had given me a price five times higher than she meant to. Then she started putting five times the number of bananas in the bag and I didn't know what was happening. All I knew was that I hadn't had a banana in a long time and that we were on bikes. Bananas don't do well on bikes. So, I motioned that we couldn't carry that many bananas. It was a mess of miscommunication and I shoved too much money in her hand because I didn't care anymore but that made her very confused and we were on our way eating bananas as we rode flipping peels willy nilly at pigs and cows. I learned that cows in Burma, unlike India, don't eat banana peels.

As we rode on that road for hours the banana debacle went through my mind and I finally figured it out. I'm certain that if I had taken all the bananas she wanted to sell me it would have come out to around 52 bananas for a dollar. That means they are by far the cheapest bananas I've ever bought. Absolutely great taste too.

Glenn, the Burma Banana Index Challenge is on! (Glenn and Sheila are scheduled to arrive in Burma in just a few days.)

Lovebruce

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesI clicked on this page just absolutely at random from all of Cycleblaze, for something quick to read while eating breakfast. I was pleased to find that I had two points of connection to it. First, we too accidentally met the Ords - at Bike Friday in Oregon. We were both looking over the offerings. We went for a pair, and they I think, did not.

But next the banana story. I think the Banana Index record on the cheap side it 80 per US dollar and it seems like the most costly is always Switzerland at 2 per dollar. But in Hawaii (yes, Hawaii!) we were asked 1 dollar for 1. After a protest, the lady produced a second one. So that either exceeds or ties the record!
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/hawaiianescape/day-3-kona-to-captain-cook/
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Andrea BrownNow that I think of it, I remember when you were shopping for Bike Fridays and met Glenn and Sheila. I may even have remarked on it in your guestbook. They are the most well-traveled people we know, and don't live too terribly far from you.

The Banana Index is alive and well and probably there are updates in the latest journal: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/tomorrow1616/brucestats-vietnam/

I don't think Hawaii grows its own bananas, oddly enough. At the airport we had to dispose of the oranges that were imported from California, when we were leaving Kauai a couple of years ago. Crazy. But I get it, agricultural areas need to closely guard their crops.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago