D103: 武关 → 富水 - Me China Red - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2021

D103: 武关 → 富水

Today is a combination of walking uphill and coasting downhill. The hills aren't particularly steep or anything like that but the weather, at 39℃ and humid, is a killer.

If I'd started earlier in the day, I'd have done better but my being tired out by all the uneven stairs and walkways at the Danfeng Grottoes in combination with yesterday's less oppressive but still oppressive heat and a hard bed¹ had me sleeping late and then there were other things that needed doing and it was nearly noon by the time I was on my way.

Since the dinner the night before had been excellent and the facilities (with the exception of the broken air conditioner) actually quite nice², it had been my plan to make a video singing the praises of this place. Instead, however, footage already taken, as I got ready to push my bike out the front gate, the same woman who had insisted that so long as she was standing directly underneath the anemic a/c that she was really quite chilly and who, come morning, had tried again in response to my letting her know that not only had it never gotten cold but I'd actually had to turn it off  with "I really don't know when it could have stopped working, it's always been a very powerful very cold air conditioner" called out to me: "hey, you haven't paid for your breakfast".

Which was true. I hadn't paid for my breakfast. I had, however, paid a premium for the use of air conditioning and I'd thought I was being non-confrontational but still explicitly clear about my not having gotten what I'd paid for.

I paid the 4y though for my fried eggs but, when a shady break time came and the opportunity to edit the video, it wasn't about the food or the cute kid or how to find the only lodging in Wuguan. It didn't mention their name. I did not include contact information. I just talked about the architecture of the building and what it meant in terms of having been built at the tail end of the 80s (1991 actually).

As I'm writing this entry, it's been a bit more than a week and, at 13,000 views, that video is a bit sluggish for one of mine but isn't actually performing all that poorly.

The notable highlight of today's ride is a musical error where I decided I wanted something punchy and upbeat and how about "Sweet Dreams are Made of This" and then, instead of searching for the song, I went with the artist so I'd get a whole bunch of that kind of music. Only my brain short circuited on the letter E and instead of the Eurythmics, I went with Enya.

It took about two solid hours of Enya, patiently waiting for "her most famous" song to show up and not understanding why it hadn't before I realized what I'd done.

Got into Fushui with plenty of time before sunset. Would have had no issue with crossing into Henan today but decided instead to stay in the last town on this side of the provincial border. Again with the couldn't find lodging my issue this time was one where Maps just wasn't working.

Any wildcard search insisted on showing me things in Zhengzhou (the capital of Henan) and, unlike normal, moving the map to where I actually was didn't bring up the option of "show results in this location". So, instead, I had to do things the old way of wandering in circles.

First place was a fourth floor Front Desk. But the second, at the far end of the town's not at all ye-olde-ified historic street, had a room with a working a/c and a toilet down the hall for 60y. That she wanted cash rather than scan to pay was annoying and would end up causing some problems in the morning but that's a story for another day.

¹ This one is completely my fault. There were four beds in the room. I chose to sleep on the first one I sat down on. I didn't check to see if the others were different mattress types.

² Bathroom downstairs is really a non-issue for me and doubly so when it is a nice clean western toilet and the shower has good water pressure

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 3,701 km (2,298 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0