D112: 海口 - Me China Red - CycleBlaze

D112: 海口

My first train was the older kind of sleeper car; this time, it's the more modern one. Coming one after another it's painfully obvious that the upgrades in style and design, like the changes Facebook or Reddit keep making to their UI, weren't actually overall positives.

I can't be sure but I also think that, on top of everything else, the bunk is a critical inch narrower than the last train. In any case, despite my being in the bottom berth and not having to deal with the folding step that replaced the ergonomic ladders and grab points of the old style, I still find this train quite uncomfortable.

As it's still summer, the general lack of ventilation and air flow caused by closing each set of six berths into a doorless cabin is particularly noticeable.

The girl who gets the top bunk in my cabin makes a ruckus with the conductor until she gets fresh bedding. Whether or not the previous occupant did, in fact, have bad body odor or not, the cross continental sleeper trains not changing bedding on multi day journeys and sometimes multiple passenger changes is one of the most "old China" things that a modern person is likely to encounter. 

In the four sleeper cars I've taken since Covid, this is the first time I've not been the first passenger in my berth and I have to admit, I agreed with her on the ick factor and had sort of assumed that this would have changed.

Arrival in Haikou goes much smoother than I'd expected. Unlike last time, I don't get pulled out of line and brought ahead of everyone to an enhanced check because "foreigners, scary". I do still end up at that desk anyways but it appears to be more of a case of this being the only one that's gotten even the most minimal training in "how to foreigner".

I'm home.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0