D87: 安康 → 吕河 - Me China Red - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2021

D87: 安康 → 吕河

With sometimes as much as 70m altitude difference between the peaks and troughs of today's climbs, it was really easy to get lots of video while cycling. I don't usually do that much as my phone¹ is kind of expensive and I normally like having both hands available to brake if need be.

However, with terrain like this, need didn't often be.

Yesterday's going excessively fast plus my quite thoroughly being Benadrylled  meant that I slept well past the early cooler hours of the morning which wasn't so great for the ongoing recovery of the heat rash though the weather has cooled down somewhat from the high of a few days ago.

The highlight of my day is either one of the two people who came seeking me out with gifts of cold bottled water or the snake removal that happened during dinner.

I also got interrupted by a guy on a motorcycle while in the middle of recording a shot to ask me "how" one goes about getting one's videos to be listed as hot or popular, and to neither understand nor accept that the trick to this is to make videos that other people want to watch.

Now, as national roads go, it was a very pretty national road periodically parallelled by train tracks of different eras as it wended it's way along a broad river valley². However, it was still a national road and, by definition, those are the straightest flattest fastest least scenic³ routes a given area has to offer.

¹ Both the new one and the old one

² In this case a "broad river valley" is the valley for a very broad river. I'm not sure how much flatland (if any) there had been before last century's hydroelectric dams were built.

³ With the exception of 5XX national roads as those are specifically defined as National Scenic Highways

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 3,176 km (1,972 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0