D30: 靖边 - Me China Red - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2021

D30: 靖边

A worthy place to leave a bicycle for a month
Heart 0 Comment 0


The people who kept my bike for me for the past month are doing Red Cross First Aid & CPR training this weekend so I got to spend all of about fifteen minutes with them. Basically just long enough to get the fruit I brought for them and to treat me to a cup of coffee.

I enjoyed carrying my substantially less loaded bike down the stairs from the bike club's café even less than I had enjoyed carrying it up. On the way up I could see where I was putting my feet.

Rode my bike back to the hotel (who, despite now being listed on CTrip as not accepting foreigners, had no problem extending my stay by another day), did a poor job of installing the new headlight, and somehow during the process (I really don't know what I did) had the brake pads just fall out on the floor.

Ignoring the question of how it is no one noticed they were particularly worn 1,000km ago when the bike was most recently disassembled by professionals, I want to know how I munged the metal thing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Xidesheng was just around the corner from my hotel and I went there where we determined my front brake pads were extremely worn, that they didn't have replacements in that size and shape, that I had somehow munged up the thingyhoojer that holds the pads in place (possibly last month), and that they didn't have any replacement brake assemblies for sale. Then they took a front brake off one of their new bikes and put that on for me and a price that was far far too reasonable.

He also helped me mount my light where I wanted it.

Back at the hotel again, I repacked panniers, determined what items were being mailed back to Hainan (excess medications, the original brake assembly, and a jersey) and managed to deflate my rear tire while trying to pump it just a little bit harder. 

I think something is wonky with the valve cause even back at the shop the next morning, he couldn't get his pump to attach in such a way as it wasn't hissing air. Just that his pump is enough bigger than mine that he was filling faster than it was hissing out.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 969 km (602 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0