T - 1: 海口 - Me China Red - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2021

T - 1: 海口

My hotel room near the airport is decorated in the style which the Chinese call "ins" meaning "like something you might find on Instagram"
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd wanted to go out to the Public Security Bureau today and contritely do my best to humbly ask that the official in charge tell me what the reason was for my getting a clearly incorrect amount of time. However, in the morning, when I called, he still wasn't in and with it being a good 40 minutes each way (not to mention the other American's residence permit being ready to renew), I decided that it could wait until I get back. That will not only ensure that I've cooled off enough to properly act humble, it will also give me some time to find out how long other people are getting and if they've just decided to change their minds (again) on following the recommendations for issuing multi year permits.

Before a dimsum lunch near my apartment, I bought 5kg of lychee and 5kg of longan as a gift for the bike club that's had my bike all the last month. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Not that I was going to be able to easily carry my two overstuffed panniers around the city without a bike to attach them to, but the fruit really made getting around a pain in the ass. However, the only fruit shop which my assistant could find that would deliver to my hotel near the airport wanted 30y a kg plus a 20y delivery fee. Compare this to a box with 10kg of fruit bought near my apartment for 130 and it wasn't much of a decision to make.

Long long afternoon at Chimac waiting for my bestie to get off work. Air conditioning, ice water, and a mango margarita taking the edge off the boredom, I had what will probably be my last western food until Beijing (a club sandwich).

Heart 0 Comment 0

The hotel I stay at is one of many in what used to be Meilan Village and what I suppose technically still counts as the village except for it being entirely airport ancillary services for Meilan Airport. Including the previous two times at this hotel, it's the fourth time I've stayed in one of the small hotels in the airport cluster (there were two other times I attempted to but somehow ended up booked in in the actual town). 

I particularly like staying near the airport because it reduces the anxiety of getting to my flight on time. I can't count the number of flights where I've specifically scheduled a taxi pickup and then ended up having to flag something down because my driver was MIA. Here though, the owners of all the hotels have banded together and jointly hired their own shuttle bus that runs on a regular schedule. 

I have surprisingly open eyes for it being 5:15am
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0