El Tunco to Usulatan - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2022

El Tunco to Usulatan

I got some nice complementary comments on my video yesterday of me trying to surf and the nearby waterfalls.  Please understand the dramatic effect at the end is because I have always been extremely afraid of heights my whole life.  I spent quite a bit of time on that video and is probably the best one I have ever made.  Thanks everyone for all the comments again - I'll try to respond better this weekend.  Especially Bob D recently for helping me with videos.  No video today, but probably tomorrow.

I really enjoyed reading watching some of Ryan's (twopeopleinparadise) YouTube channel last night after I posted my journal entry.  If anyone is even the least bit fascinated about living in El Salvador (from a foreigner's perspective), I would highly recommend their channel.  He has quite a few views!  It was a privilege to meet and talk with him.  I rode right by his gated community on the way out of Tunco this morning.

Not a lot of unique things today.  But riding by some major volcanoes now was fun.  Stopped off for lunch for some more papusas.  There were more food stands today than I think any other stretch I've ever seen.  And it was odd; there were ~a dozen only-banana stands for a stretch of about 2 miles, then after that a bit, there was a dozen or so only-almond stands.  A lot of competition for the same thing all together.  Obviously, the bikini baristas or other means to differentiate yourself has not really taken down here yet.  I stopped for a single banana at this one stand, because I needed a snack after lunch, and she told me it was a dollar.  That seemed kind of high to me, although would have paid it still.  It turns out, after communicating better, it was a dollar for a whole bunch, which was probably a dozen or so on each of these bunches on display.  So, she just gave me one from her scrap pile.  I tried to give her a quarter for it (well worth that to me, and I knew she would not have taken a dollar), but she insisted I just take it for free.  What a kind heart.

My hotel tonight is at a new level of low, just when I thought there was not one.  El Ejecutivo  (it translates to Executive - I had to check after I was there for a bit).  The pictures of the Temptation hotel across the street gives you an idea of what all these hotels are like along this road.  $7 for 3 hours.  Yes, that kind of place.  But, if it is anything like last weekend at Christmas, beggars can't be choosers, and there was fewer choices on Booking (none actually) and AirBNB.  Temptation was the only one on AirBNB.  Its really bad here - ants, no shower head, no toilet seat cover, no table or chair, but there is a couch that I didn't dare put anything on until I laid out my tent footprint on it first.  I'm supposed to be here for two nights, as I have some time to kill before my boat ride in La Union (next stop - last in El Salvador) to Nicaragua on Tuesday morning, and I'm jsut not sure what the hotel situation is like there.  I'm corresponding with a guide tonight on Whatsapp to hopefully go on a hike tomorrow.  I won't mind being gone a day from here, but if it does not work out, screw it, I'm leaving for La Union tomorrow morning and will pitch a tent at the fire station or police station if I can't find any other place to stay!

Leaving Tunco, near Ryan's place.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice shoulder! It was like this for about 25% of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is an interesting - but safe, bike lane. That is quite the rumble strip to protect you from cars. The only thing bad about this design is that there could be a lot of road debris that far over, but it was not too bad though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was like this for about 25% of the time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More pupusas! So yummy. Three plus a cold bottled water for $1.60. I gave her $2.00 and she acted as if that was the best thing to have happened to her.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boooo! Curb from re-paving but not the shoulder. Just like Guatemala. it was like this probably 25% of the time. Then just concrete for the last 25% or so (no pics of that).
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of a dozen or so banana stands all in a row.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Volcanos!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My back-up hotel from AirBNB (the last one listed there for tonight and tomorrow).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My hotel room. Love the heart. So appropriate here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 866 miles (1,394 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0