El Tunco - surfing and Tamanique waterfall - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2022

El Tunco - surfing and Tamanique waterfall

El Tunco is known as the surfing capital of El Salvador, and maybe even all of Central America.  I've never actually stood up on a surf board, and actually have only tried it once or twice in my life.  But when I rode through southern California on my very first long-distance bike ride, I rode by lots of older men coming out of the water with a board and knew then that I wanted to try that in my life.  Not since then have I tried - mainly becuase it is just too damned cold in the Pacific NW to try that.  So I was anxious to do so in these warm, beautiful waters.  Ehh..It didn't go so well for me, as the video will show, but I did have a great time trying and was glad for the opportunity in such a place of paradise.

After that, it was off for breakfast, and, since I can't stay still for long, I found a tour to the Tamanique waterfall nearby.  Present in my tour group was only one other couple from Houston, although the husband was from El Salvador and they were down here visiting his family in San Salvador.  Always nice to have a friendly translator but also someone who knew so much about El Salvador.  When we arrived in the town of the trailhead, we joined with another young couple who just finished school.  She was from Holland, and he was from Spain (just finished mechanical engineering).  It was so neat to hear everyone's stories on the ~30 min trail to the waterfall!  I had another first on this trip to the waterfall, but for those who know me, I'll let you see the video to see it in motion!

French toast breakfast after surfing, watching some of my video.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hike to Tamanique Waterfall
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can you pick out the person from the Pacific NW with no tan?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Although, the young lady from Holland did not have too much of a tan either :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying my yummie veggie burger working on my journal post.
Heart 0 Comment 0
YouTuber Twopeopleinparadise (https://www.youtube.com/@twopeopleinparadise8683) came by as I was editing my dinner outside and we shared some stories. They moved down here from Canada to start a new life, after researching some of the progressive things that El Salvador is doing and felt like it was a better place to make a future and family than in Canada. Oh, did we talk a lot!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0