DAY 9 - San Juan Island to Lopez Island - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2021

DAY 9 - San Juan Island to Lopez Island

What a ferry boat ride!

Day 9 - setting sail to Lopez was like a free cruise...well it was!  No fee sail to Shaw, Orgas and Lopez islands on the ferry.  A relaxing way to start the day.

Heart 3 Comment 4
Daniel Spangler“No fee to sail” - does it get much better?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerwow look at that sky
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThe pastel colors were simply outstanding. They lasted for a while too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerMy ferry shuttle to Olympic is costly, but worth the more direct option. It doubles as a whale watching boat I think I told you. Fun either way, I was told I could ride there but I’d be back tracking. No need for that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

When we arrived at Lopez I only had a short ride (uphill) to my overnight at Codlin Community Park.  I got a beautiful and scenic spot overlooking the water with the mountains in the background.   (Hiker/biker #27).

Heart 3 Comment 0
8:22 pm view from the hammack
Heart 3 Comment 0

This spot was made for hammocks which I just happened to have.  Not sure I'll ever find a better spot to hang from the trees!

After relaxing for while, I decided to ride to the village three  miles away.   Learned quickly from the visitors ctr. that Covid had hit this island hard and not much was open.  The mask mandate for indoors was also put back in place today I was told. 

So sad right.....

Anyway, I eventually got some food to take back to the shed.   I did sneak in a ride out to the "spit" which wasn't to impressive at least to me.  

There was plenty of shoreline and farmland to see.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like the shoreline best.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The roads on the island are good, not too much traffic .  The terrain was rolling and not to bad elevation wise; reminded me of local Hershey PA terrain.  

That's it for today - sorry.  Need to "hang out" now with my Whooper great!

View from the "Spit"
Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerReally really beautiful day man.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 365 miles (587 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0