DAY 8 - ZERO Ground Miles - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2021

DAY 8 - ZERO Ground Miles

…but did get some air miles

A little perceptive always helps!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Day 8 - A zero day on San Juan Island.  

I spent most of the day watching my beard grow and rehydrating. Now, I did get a few things accomplished, even got a few miles in just not on land.

Before I explain , let me tell you I  visited  the Salty Fox Cafe first thing.  This place sits on Friday Harbor, across the street from the ferry.  

(Dan, thank you for the tip on this place)  I sipped coffee and watched boats and seaplanes come in and out for what felt like hours.  (I think it was hours)  The weather was perfect and so was the "honey" flavored  coffee.  (Inside joke)

How's that song go "....sitting on the bay wasting time....I left my home in Georgia...."

Anyway, I did get some work done too - figured out how to get to Olympic Island and which island to visit next.   Got those things  done and decided to get some miles in!   

Lift Off
Heart 4 Comment 0

With the bike back at the house, I decided to take a ride on a seaplane. Yes, so cool right.  

The pilot was amazing and so was the landing - smooth as glass.  The views from up there put things in perceptive.  In an island chain like the San Juan's it is hard to get your bearings especially from the ground.  

Look at the beautiful blue water.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerWow dog. Beautiful. I’m so glad you had this experience.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

After landing I toured the town and wrote out a couple cards.  

That evening John, my warmshowers.org (WS) host spent some time chatting.  John is a fellow bike traveler who opens his home to touring cyclists.   He is an excellent representative of the WS hosting  community.   The hospitality he shows us strangers goes above and beyond.  John is also a photographer so we had a lot to talk about.  

After a home cooked steak dinner we took our Nikon cameras for  a walk.   Our goal was to capture Mt Baker from  secret spot, but the weather didn't cooperate.   It was a great night photo shot anyway.  We both captured a few images of the harbor as the sky filled with a deep pink and blue.

Heart 4 Comment 4
Daniel SpanglerIs that boat named “commitment?”
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerNot sure really. It smock in late in the day, looked like a charter. I really want to do this someday - a sailboat charter.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Keith A. SpanglerSnuck in…..
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

Ice cream down by the water and a walk up the hill to home completed the zero day!  Thanks John for all you've done to make me feel welcome and safe! Thank you for sharing your stories and listening to mine.

Stay well my friend, I hope our paths pass on the road someday!  Ride on!

John got us steaks, salad and home baked potato fries. Yummy
Heart 6 Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerThat’s a delicious meal! Well done capturing an EPIC day!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you Dan. Thank you for the inspiration and encouragement to take advantage of it all. I’m trying
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Tamora StumThanks John for taking care of hubby! Glad you two had fun taking photos and sharing stories.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago