DAY 20 - End to Another Adventure - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2021

DAY 20 - End to Another Adventure

Day 20 brought to an end my Heavy Rescue Tour 2021.  After spending a beautiful evening with Dan and Mr B, I weighed my options to continue on the final leg to Bremerton into Seattle or catch a lift.  Well, I decided to take the lift.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Dan and Benny cruising the beach
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mr B wore me out throwing sticks
Heart 4 Comment 0

Before finalizing the plan, Dan, Mr. B and I took a walk on the beach.  It was sort of magical, the clouds and sun were taking turns overhead, and the sounds of the surf filtered from the Pacific.   I felt content with making this the tour’s end point and celebrating it with Dan and Benny.

Touring Buddies
Heart 4 Comment 2

They had been kind enough to travel two and a half hours to spend an overnight with me - how nice right.  They offered to support me in any decision I felt appropriate too.  I chose to put the Heavy Rescue on the “hook”. 

Before the bike was loaded, my guests introduced me to car camping with an outstanding, freshly-made breakfast accompanied by Olympia “Big Truck” Coffee (compliments of Louise - Dan’s girl) and a bag of my favorite fruit, cherries.  

Olympia Coffee *Big Truck*
Heart 3 Comment 0
They even brought a grill
Heart 3 Comment 1
Camp-made breakfast!
Heart 3 Comment 0

It all came together and felt right to bring the tour to an end.

 I enjoyed having you all join me!   I hope I captured some interesting moments that made you smile. I have many memories from this “detoured" adventure.  Maybe someday I’ll be fortunate to return to the West Coast to complete my original Canadian route.  

Until then, I’m sure the Heavy Rescue and I will travel many more miles together making memories and meeting kind people like you!

Hugs Keith

August 2 thru 21, 2021
Heart 5 Comment 2
Wendy WillisI really enjoyed reading your adventures. Got scared too.
So appreciate to end your journey as it started, with your son.
No shame in choosing the “hook” you have accomplished so much!
And I’m sure Tamora misses you!
Cheers to you Keith!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Wendy WillisThank you Wendy. Dan and Louise have been very kind to me.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
brandon spanglerwhat a delightful trip. thank you for sharing it with us it was really awesome to experience it with you this way.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo brandon spanglerI’ve been so fortunate to have visited my boys on my adventures this year! Thank you for all you did to make it fun.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lyle McLeodKeith,
It was great to follow along on your ride. The PNW is a magical place and it came through in your journal. Hopefully you get a chance to experience it again on the north side of the border.
Rgds,
Lyle
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerLyle, thank you for the kind words and for following my adventure. I wish you and yours happy trails….maybe someday our paths will cross!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago