DAY 7 - San Juan Southside - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2021

DAY 7 - San Juan Southside

Marooned by Choice

Day 7 wake up was so beautiful. If you ever get to San Juan Island checkout the Community Park on the westside.  I stayed at the hiker/biker spots and it was outstanding.  They have a shared power bank there, restroom and water.  No food!

Overnight in the hiker/biker spot
Heart 3 Comment 0
My spot was by the charging station.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Well, turned right and headed to the Lime Kiln Lighthouse.  Small structure the needs work, but still nice to see.  

The views here along this entire route are amazing.   The water looks dark blue with ribbons of white along the rocky shoreline. 

Lime Kiln Light
Heart 4 Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerBeautiful spot. Louise and I checked this out. There is an old Lime mill down the path. Pretty neat to see.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumNice hubby!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Stopped by this roadside town built on a rock...cool fight
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scenic views
Heart 3 Comment 0

I decided to travel the Cape passing South Beach.   The road steadily climbs high above the shoreline offering sweeping views.  

US Coast Guard on patrol. I say here listen to my son's music for 45 minutes
Heart 4 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerIsland class cutter! Maybe out of Bellingham. Could have reached them on channel 16! So cool man.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice shot of the CA poppies!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eschscholzia_californica
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you they were so brilliant
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The Trucker enjoyed the view too.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerIt was a tough climbing back up. It was funny because I met this biking tour group earlier in the day and they were at the bottom of this climb when I rolled in. The guide said where you going - I said Friday Harbor. He said that is the other way 10 miles behind you - v
Back up that climb. FUN they passed me several miles up and waved.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Did the route down and back - dummy me didn't know the road was a dead end. Fun climbing!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

There is another light structure along this stretch after South Beach that is worth walking out to.

Heart 2 Comment 0

If you go out to the Cape you'll have to retrace your path to Friday Harbor.   

On my return into downtown I was looking for a place to sleep so I stopped a local church.  A gentleman was coming outside and I told him I needed a place to hang and if it would be ok at the church's property.  

Well, John said he can at my house!  John is a Warmshowers.org host.  He offered me a room for as long as I needed it.  He let me shower and offered me a coke and healthy snacks.  

How kind right! John is a bicycle traveler and photographer - an all around cool guy. After greeting into his home he went grocery shopping for breakfast and found two more cyclists.  They are on a two-tour and have extensive experience traveling by bike around the world 

John invited them to stay overnight too so we all had dinner at the house.

What a day!  Thanks John

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 334 miles (538 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerLuck continues to be on your side! Lola and now John. Keep saying your prayers, Moser!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumYour Mom is watching out for you up there.... You are fortunate to meet such nice people.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago