DAY 13 - Sequim to Crescent Lake via Joyce - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2021

DAY 13 - Sequim to Crescent Lake via Joyce

Let's Get Some Rest

LookDay 13 - the morning started with a wake up at the hiker/biker site.  It was hard to get up, it was cool and comfortable sleeping.  

Window view this morning...
Heart 3 Comment 0

Three other Travers - Oliver, Ashley and Amily - had arrived late, so I met them briefly as I pulled out of dodge.   Our paths crossed many times during the day in Port Angeles and further down the way.

I was happy to meet them because they had a better idea on the route than I.   

I had committed to do the Olympic Discovery Trail after hearing about from Randy at the coffee in Port Angeles.  It basically ran along the water until climbing to a ridge outside town.

Here are a few images from the first half of the day.  The smoke from the wild fires in Canada blanketed the scenic views, but it was still beautiful.  My three friends let me do follow them out to a peninsula before heading up a climb to the ridge.  So glad I did it too.

Let me first share a few images on the earlier trail:

Quick stop on the way
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ii wanted take a moment to congratulate my Dan for getting engaged to his adventure partner Louise, so I stopped here,. Look the sunflowers are happy for you too. Congrats from Tamora and I.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerThanks dad!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumPerfect picture to post for Louise and Dan. In Chinese culture, sunflowers are said to mean good luck and lasting happiness... Other cultures it means positivity and strength to admiration and loyalty.
Congratulations Seattle Lovebirds!!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I need to mention something important about this tour and my previous one.  I seem to travel on special occasions and this summer had been no different. I'm fortunate I have very kind and forgiving folks in my life.  I missed my anniversary, a birthday party, an engagement  and mother's day. Please know I'm not doing it on purpose.  I love you all!

View leaving Port Angeles
Heart 3 Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerThe road calls! You plan well in advance- we all understand.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumOur Anniversary tradition is to dance.... so I danced and danced!!! Enjoy the ride hubby!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTamorA you are so nice to me....I miss you
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
From the Peninsula outside Port Angeles
Heart 3 Comment 0
The trail went right past the harbor
Heart 3 Comment 0
My friends plus Rick from Seattle. Rick shared some tips with us before traveled onward.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A direction sign for the trail
Heart 2 Comment 0
This was cool a pedestrian bridge built under the car bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
View from the pedestrian bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 1

Well, that was the boring part of the day.  Little did I know an epic leg lay ahead.   Dan and Jason thank you for supporting me through it.  

I was suppose to follow the Olympic Discovery Trail into Lake Crescent in the afternoon.  My friends departed early as I grabbed some food at a cafe. In Joyce WA.  Nice mall town.

I really wanted to stay, but I couldn't get anyone to let me tent so on my went I went.  

I'll keep this brief, it wasn't a short adventure but....  I accidently took a spur on the Olympic Discovery "adventure" - a single gravel path up and over a mountain.  Seriously it was in the woods and steep.  I spent a lot of time pushing the bike.  Well, I eventually got dumped out on a fire road that went for what felt like miles.  

Jason tracked my when I got service and helped me get to the road
Heart 3 Comment 1
Tamora StumYea Jason!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I was scared that I was staying lost overnight.  Eventually some MT bikers rescued me and took me to another paved trail where I got lost again. 

I finally got ce service and Ed Dan and Jason in Cape May.

Jason tracked the phone as Dan looked my position up on maps.  Together they got me to a road - hey 101 and to the camp at the westside of the lake.  

Wow, that was so scary (please don't laugh). When I arrived as the sun was setting, I was greeted by my three traveling friends who bought my overnight.  

Guys, all if you, thank you!  My remote rescue crew I can't thank you enough for staying and helping me.  I love you all.  

 

Let's get some rest!
Heart 3 Comment 5
brandon spanglerjeebus bro just fly casual about it
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerA good adventure- you survived. A scare, but you had the tools to get you out. Learn from it and keep on keeping on!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithSo glad to hear you made back safely. That sounds very scary!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumThanks again to Jason and Dan for helping Dad out.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI was crazy for sure. Y fault but ..

. When you are out there in the middle of nothing alone ....
Anyway.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0