DAY 12 - Townsend to Sequim - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2021

DAY 12 - Townsend to Sequim

Day 12 -started with coffee and a talk with Dan my WS host for the night.

Dan is a very busy guy and I felt fortunate to have a few minutes to get to know him.  He doesn't bike much anymore he says, but he now hosts others (cyclists/hikers) as a payback for those who helped him.

Dan was working as we talked
Heart 3 Comment 0

Dan, is an intense guy about his current work and proud of his past.

Dan re-builds cities now.  Yes, working with Blue Zone he helps cities rebuild to be more friendly and  healthy.  Redesigning street layouts with pedestrian ways and parks and stuff.   He is also an avid cyclist and photographer/writer.

Dan wrote and photographed one of the first bicycle articles to appear in Nation Geographic. - yes can you believe that.  The article appeared in 1973 and was about him and three others who biked from Alaska to Missouri.

The gang & their route
Heart 3 Comment 2
Tamora StumThat's really cool
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerthat's so cool!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Thought you might be able to read a little from the store.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dan is very proud of his past
Heart 3 Comment 0

I enjoyed talking with him so much.  His compassion and drive for making the world better certainly shows.  Thank you Dan and Lys for hosting me!  

I headed out if town along the harbor and a bike trail that took me way outside the city of Port Townsend.  On the way to the trail I saw plenty of deer strolling around.  It was strange they weren't bothered with me at all.  I also pasted this pretty lighthouse, not sure if it's name.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Also saw this strange character in a shipyard leaving town.

Roadside entertainment
Heart 3 Comment 1
brandon spanglerwhy does ball and chain man look so sad???
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

The Olympic Discovery Trail was the next trail I followed. It's name was different here but....

The Olympic Discovery Trail combines many trails under one network
Heart 2 Comment 0

Most of the day was spent connecting trails (single track, paved, gravel and roads).  I did have some riding on HWY 20W and 101 before the day was over.  Traffic treated me well, despite the lack of shoulders at times.

Met another traveling cyclist here. Rob was riding the opposite direction. He gave me some tips and we said goodbye.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My welcome train!
Heart 2 Comment 1

The trails continued ....

The shade offered on many of the trails today offered relieve from the humidity.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Well, finding something to eat was difficult today. I stopped in Sequim at about 12:45 pm and pigged out.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerNow that looks good dog.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
...and a lot of water!!!!
Heart 3 Comment 3

Veggies too.

I purchased a new Dream Catcher at a Native American Art store in Sequim - pretty right
Heart 3 Comment 1
brandon spanglerperfect west coast addition to your icons
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

The rainbow colors made me feel good.  I also mailed some more postcards - maybe you'll get one.

Well must rest now. Here is where I'm laying my head tonight - click below:

Overnight Day 12

That's all I have right now, thank you for hanging in here with me!
Heart 3 Comment 1
brandon spangleryour third eye is glowing
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 411 miles (661 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0