DAY 14 - Crescent Lake to Forks - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2021

DAY 14 - Crescent Lake to Forks

A Good Decision - get on the road

Thought:. A truck driver once told me you aren't making money if you are sitting at the rest stop...a good reminder when the biker body is lazy..

Day 14 - I slept in as my traveling friends packed up this morning.   They were done biking, now going hiking.  They were an interesting group of young folk.  I won't bore you with details, but we shared stories until late in the evening 

After they went to bed I activated the solo stove and sat in the dark down at the beach's west end  until like midnight. 

It was so peaceful looking at the at the lake and the trail of car lights running along 101, all by the glow of a small flame.

Sorry no pics of that but here is my view this morning.

A.M from the west end of Crescent Lake
Heart 5 Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerBeautiful photo
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThis is where I was making my decision to move or stay. I am happy withy decision but it was so so inviting to hang.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumExcellent photo Dale
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I decided to continue on my way toward Forks instead of staying another night as previously thought.

The biggest issue faced today was the several-mile climb from the lakeshore.  I had raced down it yesterday, so I knew what was coming.  Yes, I was dreading it honestly.

It looked worse than it was though.  The gearing on the Heavy Rescue HR21 was low enough to get me up the climb with relative ease!

Looking down the road after the climb.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerCool shot of the elevation.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThanks it was a quicky. I don't take time to review them until later. The phone is making these images easier.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I was surprised how nice 101 was nice shoulders and nice motorists.  It seemed to be relatively flat too compared to the 4,500 feet of elevation yesterday.

I enjoyed today's ride to Forks the weather was so nice; did have a little headwind.   (I think my friend told me to expect that.)

View from one of the four small bridges I crossed.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Stop for pics
Heart 3 Comment 0

In 10 miles I found a place I had mapped during my research of the ride a month ago.  BEAR CAFE on 101.  A classic local place!

Bear Cafe a must stop on 101
Heart 3 Comment 0

Traveling during Covid makes for a lot of uncertainty - towns are shutdown, or have weird schedules.  No one answers the phone either.  So sad!  Campgrounds are packed though!

I'm staying at a cool tiny locally-owned campground called Last Chance.  It has running water, port a jon and shade.... It is near a farm with horses too.  

Sign
Heart 3 Comment 0

Happy about it because it is close to town that has a coffee stand and great food. What can a Heavy Rescue Operator ask for...

Hey, did I tell you that the Traveler - Chris Stapleton came on while I was having din din....made me smile!

Down the road again tomorrow - maybe South Beach.   

This pic is for my Warmshowers.org host on San Juan - John
Heart 2 Comment 2

Hot blackberry pie!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerNice write up dog. Glad you had a good evening.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you Dan. I'm getting in the roll of it I think. I am so fortunate to have so many helpers.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago